Unschooling Blog, Vol. 35 - Catching “Ant Lions”!

in #unschooling7 years ago (edited)

000D1008-6FC0-4DF2-8E9C-931EDB7FAC2D.jpeg

In unschooling, all the world’s a classroom. No. Wait. That’s not true. Classrooms are usually fucking boring.

All the world’s an exciting opportunity to learn and grow and play.

Ant Lions.


Since I was a child I have been fascinated by the perfectly conical and cleanly shaped pits that appear in sand outside in parks and elsewhere, and the strange creatures that reside within known as “ant lions.”

In Japan, they have an even more foreboding name. Known as ari no jigoku, or “ant hell,” these pits are not where any small defenseless ant wishes to find itself.

I can remember being in second or third grade and digging these guys up to show a couple of my grandma’s friends one day at her house. Those people, an elderly couple, are likely long gone now, and my grandma has passed as well, but I will never forgot how excited they were, and the joy it brought to their faces when I taught them about these bugs they had lived around all their lives but never seen. That day made a really big impression on me.

All the world’s so fascinating, if we look around.

0F9F035C-F7FC-4048-A369-FB8A5EA8F471.jpeg
Some ant lion pits in the sandbox at the park near our house.


So what are they?


Well, according to Wikipedia:

The antlions are a group of about 2,000 species of insect in the family Myrmeleontidae, known for the fiercely predatory habits of their larvae, which in many species dig pits to trap passing ants or other prey. The adult insects are less well known, as they mostly fly at dusk or after dark, and may be mistakenly identified as dragonflies or damselflies; they are sometimes known as antlion lacewings, and in North America, the larvae are sometimes referred to as doodlebugs because of the strange marks they leave in the sand.


Check out our video of Isaiah and I digging one up for closer examination!



Unschooling is learning, because unschooling is play.


I was never taught about antlions as a student in school. One thing I do know, though, is that I spent hours of my own time on my own volition digging in the dirt for them and poring over encyclopedias and insect manuals to learn about them. That’s how unschooling works. According to a child’s natural interests and inclinations. In this case I think I may have been more interested than my son, but you get the idea!

Thanks for stopping by!

(If you missed the last Unschooling Blog, “JIYUU! FREEDOM! (My experiments with giving my son total freedom) Episode 1,” you can find that HERE.

Peace, Freedom, and Life-long Learning,

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Thank you for your post! You are spreading all the right things! Keep spreading my friend, your wings will soon open and glide you into the time of reason. God Bless.

Amazing post really nice & mind touch blog😁..I like this👌.Re-steem😍😍


Wow great, you are a smart teacher, who has been teaching with experiments. Isaiah is so smart and he answered you great excitement and happiness. Thanks very good job, yes this types of teaching is more practical and positive compared to theoretical education system. Thanks for sharing, wish you good luck for your mission of Unschooling. Thanks.

Good Information :)

@kanou please don’t spam like this.

We should always welcome the way through which we will be able to gain proper freedom to fly our ambition and peace can be earned... I totally appreciate your way of teaching and methodology you used...Good luck to your lovely child "Isiah"too...

Yeah the parents have the biggest responsibility for teaching our children, but sometimes we cannot see what's going around us, so often the little ones can bring our focus back

Kids are information sponges. Don't let school teach him that 'learning' sux0rs.

You're on the right track. I'm happy for Isaiah and his folks =)

Its a great responsibility...teaching a child at home means every parent have to be a teacher...but in present scenerio its seems not so easy to make a child place at home and giving all the necessary and needed study for a long time...yes sending school does not mean earning all round development...but how many of our parent can able to give all round development to their child at home...I know nothing is impossible for a human being...but stronge determination is very uarge for this... Its my personal view...I know you and every parents are the best decision maker for their child..anyway your son is a talented one and you are a perfect teacher...gud luck

I've never seen these they look pretty wicked. I'll be scared though they have a big scissor like thing on their heads and I'd think they can bite me. They didn't even defensive strike though.

Yeah.. thanks Kafka..for we also got a chance to learn too about antlion in this unschooling blog.. You know , children learn better through play -way method and if they are taught in the open air outside the four boundaries of the classroom.. I am sure Isaiah will flourish in life for he has a father like you.. God bless both of you...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66732.73
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66