Unschooling Blog, Vol. 17: Telling Time and Finding a Transient International Community at the Airport.

in #unschooling8 years ago (edited)

IMG_0241.JPG
Playing with the rooftop cameras interface in Media Ship.

My wife had training for facial massage methods two days ago.

On these types of days--"boys days"--my son and I usually go out looking for some type of adventure that is fun for both of us. This can actually be something of a tall order at times, and in a sleepy city where most of the kids are in school, often has me questioning my choices as a parent.

I know unschooling is the way to go, but it certainly is not without its moments of questioning.

Since my son has been spending more and more time with me after leaving his daycare/preschool (see the story here) his English level has skyrocketed, he seems to be more comfortable in his own skin, and he is able to pursue many interests which would not be so readily pursuable were he still in school.

That said, when it is the dead of winter, and there is no unschooling community to speak of, one can start to have doubts. Everybody needs to be social.

Spring is here now.

IMG_0235.JPG
A cold day on the jungle gym.

I was beginning to feel these same doubts when we were out for our most recent "boys day." We had had some fun going for sushi, and he ate like a champ, and didn't even leave the booth! He usually runs all over and has a hard time focusing.

He's naturally a very active guy, so I try to never shame him for this. I just explain over and over that "other people are here to eat, too," and I am so happy he is having fun, but "we need to think about their dining experience as well."

Of course I don't let him climb on other people's tables or anything. He just likes to run around the restaurant looking at everything. I admire this about him, actually. His natural curiosity. Anyway, this most recent time he ate just like a "big boy," and so I let him get a prize from the gacha gacha (quarter machine) after we had eaten. He got a watch.

Immediately we started talking about the time. No textbook. No drilling. Just: "What time is it, buddy?"

Ehhhh...one-two-three-zero.

"Oh. You mean twelve-thirty?

Yes. Twelve-thirty.

Learning. Simple and painless as that. Meaningful.

IMG_0236.JPG
Mowing down some fresh sushi 🍣

On to the world of the toy people.

We then took a bus down to one of the taller buildings in the city, Niigata Nippo Media Ship to check out the view from the observation deck. The whole ride was full of questions about the different numbers in the front of the bus signifying the stops, the posted rules, etc. Again. This is real life learning, and it never stops.

We had a nice moment at the top of the building.

Usually Isaiah just runs around and doesn't really notice the intricacies of the landscape. Being up this high has always made me contemplate life and think about how strange it is that all those tiny, tiny people down there are leading their own, separate, busy lives and feeling that these lives are so much more important than those of all the other "ants." Myself included, of course.

This time Isaiah crouched down by the window with me and we laughed at how tiny the people and buses were. Omochamitai! said Isaiah. "They look like toys." We watched a bus pull up to the stop where we had just gotten off. We counted the seconds until the doors opened and, sure enough, and tiny little speck of a person popped out. We laughed.

IMG_0238.JPG
From the top of the Media Ship.

International Nexus.

I thought we would just head home after our adventure downtown. I was feeling a bit bummed he hadn't had any time to play with other kids this time out. While talking about the bus and where it was going, I told him the final stop was the airport. He said he wanted to go (there is a play area there) and so I obliged. We had lots of time and I was in need of a change of scenery. I like to be in airports. It makes me feel less "stuck." Plus, my dude needed to play.

I didn't expect anyone to be there on a Wednesday afternoon, really, but upon arriving we were surprised by a pretty hopping scene. Lots of kids, one child half-Japanese like my son, and all very vibrant and full of energy--just like my dude!

A lot of times children here in Japan can be somewhat timid in public. These international and from-out-of-town bastards were nuts. Just kids should be. I felt such a surge of relief in my heart when Isaiah and these guys were all romping around together, talking, socializing and having fun.

Isaiah: Do you know about Mario and Luigi?

Girl: Mmmm. I think I've heard of that.

Both proceed to romp and stomp off to the next focal point, smiling and zoned in on the play.

IMG_0244.JPG

Helicopters home.

When we finally left the airport, Isaiah said he wanted to walk home, instead of take the bus. I told him it was a long way, but knew we could both use the exercise, and besides, we could always hop on a bus at a stop along the way.

As we left the airport grounds we happened upon a helicopter just taking off. Isaiah was smiling and in good spirits. We watched as it roared off into the sky, chopping up the air while Isaiah mimicked the thumping sound.

We had a good day, after all. Dad win! I am always thankful for times like these, and am hopeful Spring and Summer will bring infinitely more opportunities to get out, tear it up, and have some fun!

(If you missed the last Unschooling Blog, you can find it here. Thanks for stopping by.)

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Wonderful topic, good luck waiting for the new

Nothing beats quality time together, even when it doesn't necessarily feel like it's as full of quality as us big people would like it to be;)

I guess that's true, huh. Thanks. Sometimes I really need the reminder.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64052.62
ETH 2530.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65