You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling Blog, Vol. 26: Kids Don't Need School to Learn to Read (Learning to read is as natural as learning to walk.)

in #unschooling7 years ago

This is another great Unschooling post, and one I can relate to well. My youngest learned to read from watching Pokemon with the subtitles on. We weren't even trying to teach her at all.

I had been very "teacherly" with our eldest and he learned to read early. Luckily I didn't destroy his desire to read like many parents who push early reading do. But with Lily we stepped back. She wasn't as 'into' books as her brother had been even as a baby, so I was pleasantly surprised when she simply picked it up on her own.

This isn't to say there aren't times she needs to ask a word or mispronounces something, but she doesn't mind asking for that help because there has never been any pressure or judgment involved in her learning.

Sort:  

I love hearing these kinds of stories. Thanks so much for sharing. Excellent parenting!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51