You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drop Out of High School to Succeed in Life, Part 2

in #unschooling6 years ago

Hi Leslie,
I'm very much of two minds on this. Having gone through high school the traditional way, and now I tend to look back over my career - I'm 59 now.

I was really smart in high school. I got consistent A's. I was often left out and ridiculed for that. But I am who I am and I stuck it out.

I have a solid career in software that took care of me all my life. But I never became a guy like Bill Gates, Steve Jobs, or Jeff Bezos. If I had to teach myself, instead of being a "goodie-good" high school student, I wonder what I would have done with that inate ability to get straight A's. Despite all, would I have flipped burgers for the next 40 years? Would I have the nerve to start a company with the next big thing? Or would I be where I am now?

These are pointless questions for me.

For you, I strongly feel that whatever is right, pursue it with all your heart.

Upvoted!

Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica why don't you stop by again and read some of my posts, I haven't heard from you in a while your comment and critique would be apprecaited no obligation to upvote
Sort:  

Yeah, there are definitely some people for whom school is a beneficial environment. And those people could get even more out of it if it weren't compulsory.

So agreed! I could have treated high school like college if there weren't two dozen monkeys in the back of the class that didn't want to be there.
Just shows you we need flexibility in the system. Maybe even an mentorship program of volunteer business people to guide kids like you who want to be entrepreneurs -- someone to show you how to put together a business plan, for example.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57916.39
ETH 2552.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42