You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LIVING IS LEARNING: Amazing Unschooled Babies Learn to Walk & Talk .... and more!

in #unschooling7 years ago

Great post! I'm someone who went through school and university. I did really well in both and got my first job straight out of uni. On day one of my job in my chosen career I realised I knew NOTHING. I didn't have the skills to do the job even though I knew the theory and had the paper work to prove that. It took a good 6-12 months before I felt confident about myself to do it. I didn't even know what I should say to the person on the other end of the phone. I was clueless!

Now that I have a daughter I am very keen on homeschool/ unschooling her. However when I raised this with my partner he's adamant that she's going to school. He refuses to even listen to me to hear about the benefits. She's still a baby so I have a few years to work on him. It makes me sad that I might lose this battle though and have to send her to school where she will learn useless information that doesn't really set her up for life.

Our school system here is so behind. Only recently have they been talking about teaching computer skills like programming in school. This is something that should have happened years ago. Now, there's a discussion about teaching kids how to drive. Hurray, finally a life skill of some sort might get taught here, but knowing how slowly things move my daughter will be an adult before the curriculum changes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46