Unschooling, Forest Play, Urban Food Foraging

image

One of my favorite parts of our unschooled life is how much time our family gets to spend in nature. Today I took the kids and their friend Jaja to one of our favorite hiking spots and they played barefoot in the woods for quite some time.

Earlier in the day we had met our tribe for Mexican food, and one if the mamas (Nadja) took the kids on a wild food harvesting walk. The kids picked greens for a salad, packages them in recycled salsa containers, grabbed limes and lemons from the restaurant, and when we got home from the forest they devoured thileir forged salad.

What an amazing life.

image

Sort:  

Play is the work of childhood .. Jean Piaget ||

Good to see you here @catherinebleish I am 2 months new here on the Steemit platform and it is nice to run into "blasts from the past" once in a while. Seems the farming and foraging life is going well. It has been quite the journey but all so worth it.

Hi! I am a parent of 3 and have started researching homeschooling groups in my area. My older teen boys attended public school in the US, CA. But with current budget cuts to education and other issues in the city I live, I am not confident with the public school options available to my daughter. I have no background in education. I have been very active stay-at-home mom with my boys. We always joined mommy groups and I attended all their extra curricular activities, but never had to be in charge of teaching academic subjects past early grade school. I just started my blog here on Steemit and your blog is one of the first that caught my eye. Is it ok if I follow you to learn more about homeschooling? I am still learning to navigate Steemit world so not sure how to go about things. Thank you for posting! I hope you have a lot of insight on how to homeschool.

Yes please! Lets connect. Id like to reassure you that kids are powerful learners and you dont need teaching expsrience. Thry WANT to learn, we need only provude them with and enriching life.

Your lifestyle is very nice! ! I would like to share it with my lifestyle if you like ♪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49