Unschooling at the Austin Zoo, An Aninal Rescue Sanctuary

Last week we went to the Austin Zoo to learn about the rescued animals they have in their sanctuary.

Traditionally I am not a fan of zoos, but the one in Austin is full of animals who were relinquished by their owners or rescued from dangerous situations.

IMG_20180427_161817_985.jpg

Peafowl and chickens roam free, while most aninals are contained in their closures.

The loins were so beautiful I could hardly believe they were real.

20180427_150533.jpg

I was introduced to new species, like the bearcat, and enjoyed listening to the exoctic birds speak English words like "hello".

20180427_154023.jpg

Its important for me to expose my children to wildlife in any capacity that is possible. I believe that exposure to other living creatures helps form empathy and compassion for all.

20180427_171215.jpg

Sort:  

I live about 15 minutes from that zoo. I too am not a fan of zoos but like you, find this facility necessary because of people's stupidity.

I wonder how hard it would be to do a little Q&A with a zookeeper there.

I feel like when I was younger, I didn’t ask enough questions. In fact, I was kind of jealous of the kids who were able to come up with really good questions. I just kind of took what was given to me.

Now that I see asking questions as a skill, I wish I would have had more practice growing up.

So- I know you just went to the zoo, but what if on your next visit, everyone on your learning adventure (both you and your kids) took some time to think of 3 really good questions to ask a zoo keeper- then found one to talk to?

That’s what-9 interesting questions to ask?
And if the zoo keeper doesn’t know, I’ll bet you could look it up and teach him. How empowering would that be for your little ones!?

I love your parenting/ teaching style- by the way. Keep unschooling :)

We actually go once a year to the homeschool day and they have zookeepers set up at stations all over! On this visit we did talk to the woman feeding the exotic birds, but I agree, more questions would have been a great thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53