You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saying “Yes” to Love – Our Unschooling Journey – Part 4

in #unschooling7 years ago

I've been reading these posts somewhat out of order, but I have very much enjoyed them and have resteemed. By way of serendipity, you've provided me some insight that comes at the right time for me. Also, I like how you bring up your concern that posting about these issues could be exhibitionist, but turned out to be beneficial. I've considered running a series of posts on my experience and have been hesitant for the same reason. I had to rescue myself and my daughter from an abusive relationship and that has had tremendous affect on my ability to reason about my parenting. Other issues stemming from deeper in my past contribute as well. I think your posts have given me the context to attempt to frame my experience in a way that, if all goes well, will be helpful and reaffirming to myself and others. Thank you very much! Now I have to go back and read the first posts.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for sharing how these posts have been of use to you, and for supporting them with your votes and resteem, it means a lot!

It's hard to say how much to say in these posts. I have a very good relationship with my mom now and I don't want her to be hurt by the things I mention of my own past, but I also fear this tendency for social media to be filled with the most cherry-picked moments of perfection puts stress on parents. I know some of these folks and they are not living the life they post for the world to see. That's understandable, but I want my time here to be of help to people in the way others have taken the time that helped me.

I really look forward to your posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81