You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [VIDEO] Unschooling Blog, Vol. 28: EVERYTHING is "educational" (Feat. Isaiah's new toy demo video!)

in #unschooling7 years ago

Great article. I will be looking forward to reading more of these in the future. I am not a parent yet, but plan to be in the near future, and I full intend for my kids to be unschooled. Do you have any book/reading suggestions? Thanks!

Sort:  

Thanks, @agorist13. My number one recommendation would be A.S. Neill's Summerhill. This book changed my life, and that's not an exaggeration. It documents Neill's experience as the founder of a world famous democratic school in England. He describes in depth how children so shamed, suppressed, and made fearful by compulsory schooling are set free by self-acceptance, personal responsibility, and complete freedom.

After that:

Awareness by Anthony DeMello

How Children Learn John Holt

Dumbing Us Down John Taylor Gatto

Hope this list helps!

Thanks! Very helpful. I have actually read Dumbing Us Down and How Children Learn, but the other two I havent. I'm gonna check them out. Thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95