Nothing to lose, university, 2 jobs, drop out, move into condo, ROOMATE, drop-in, and move back home age 18-20 y/o

in #university7 years ago

When I turned 19 (legal age in Nova Scotia), I wanted to do everything I could not before. I got a credit card, I bought cigars and alcohol, stock traded, checkbook, everything. Except live alone. In my senior year at my high school I made friends with a few guys on the football team. We'd drink every weekend and act wild. Never really knew each other. We'd always go to this one guy's grandfather's house (mansion size), where he lived along with his dad. His dad is an agent.

When I graduated high school I went straight to university. I turned 19 in December 2015, picked up 2 jobs the previous month. The second semester started in January and I did not want to go! By the time I decided to try I could not save my grades, it was too late. I was forced to leave the university for one year.

My mom came to me in July and said "You need to pay rent or move out"... in nicer words actually lol. Still having 2 jobs, I messaged my friend's father and said "I need a place asap".

He had a harbor view condo I could stay in for a year. $900CAD/month all inclusive and furnished... my 2 part time jobs gave me only $1250/month and did not have cash to pay on the 1st of August with the damage deposit. I managed to sell my TV and iPhone, and bought a GameCube and smaller TV, along with cashing out my vacation pay. I got in. It was a 2 BDM condo... and I just got a $1,000 mastercard :)

The first 3 months I had the best time of my life. By November I started running out of money and struggling. December I had no extra money, turned 20 and got gift cards for Christmas. January I quit drinking, was not in the budget, in desperate need of a roommate. One of the other guys from my high school group of friend's parents threw lots of parties. He had one older brother, who had his own friends. One of his brother's friends needed a place to live and I needed money.

We moved in together in February 2017. He was between jobs. I got him a job at the fast food place I was working at. At this time I knew I wanted to get a further education. Working 2 jobs I got a little messy in the kitchen. In March 2017 I quit the fast food job. But stashed $1,200 in that month. The lease is up August 1st. April I got accepted back into university, I prepped all month. In May I went back to school. But I go to school all day and work in the night through the week.

I went back to school May 8th 2017. I left a bit of mess in the kitchen the first 2 days and my roommate FLIPPED. THIS GUY DOES NOT WASH HIS HANDS AFTER HE USES THE BATHROOM. But there's a mess in the kitchen. I have the money to kick him out but I won't unless I have to. He's been disrespecting me since he knows my income doesn't cover the expenses alone and it is brutal. I let him know that I was moving back to my mom's this weekend and that he is welcome to leave whenever he wants. 2 1/2 month's notice is not bad notice. The last place he was in did not have hot water. I am an independent person, I don't hang with friends anymore I have life goals and whatnot... me and my roommate are not alike.

My university degree took a rather long detour but I feel I'm in the right spot. I was the middle kid of 5, the 1st and probably only to go to university. I also need knee surgery that I declined (I can elaborate on later) so being a laborer for life doesn't work for me. Single-parent, low-income home. I just want to help my mom and older sister out. My older sister a single parent of 2 (1 is 2 month's old). I never had a lot of friends growing up because I refused to be distracted by the reality I was presented. From 10 years old til now.

I made many financial mistakes in this period, but I have learned and this is far from over. My current job has many career options and is paying into my tuition if I get at least C's. Thanks for reading.
PS I got new shoes yesterday :)))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59541.64
ETH 2637.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45