How I didn't use my time at the university properly

in #university6 years ago

maxresdefault.jpg

Yesterday I faced this brutal realisation. I totally misused my time at the university. Yesterday I realised what could be done in those 4 years at the University.

For last couple of years, my thoughts on (Slovakian) Universities were pretty straightforward. I believe that they do not provide best possible value for personal and professional growth. And basically I still believe the same. I believe they can do much better job in teaching the students what matters by order of magnitude.

But, (there is a big BUT here), yesterday I realised, that it was up to me, what I would do with those four years which were carved out from my life by society. Those four years which gave a respectable identity (University student) and freedom at the same time, which (maybe) I will not get again in my life.

What I've also got is access to all unbelievable libraries, which were full of the writing of people who are intelligent and articulate beyond comprehension. I've could go there and learn a lot.

I always believed that I should learn to get a good job or even get a good grade (and I do believe that many professors believe the same thing), but what I realise that it is absolute complete nonsense.

The reason why you come to University to be educated is because there is nothing more powerful than someone who is articulate and think and speak.
It is power. Power of the best sort. It is authority and influence and respectability and competence, so you come to University to craft your highest skill. And your highest skill is to be founded in articulated speech. And if you are master at formulating your arguments, you win everything. Better than that, when you win everything, everybody around you wins too.

So... The advice which Jordan Peterson gave Harvard students when they ask? Read great books!

Thank you Jordan for crushing my blinded perception and changing me for better. Again.

Whole video which deeply spoke to me yesterday is here (the chat with Harvard students at 4:46):

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62007.73
ETH 2389.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49