My first Psychology Lecture

in #university8 years ago (edited)

There was a lot of students, more than 200 and mostly girls. They are all western, privileged straight A students just out of highschool. Most of them chose psychology because it is the most intriguing subject that is still sensible and useful to society.

How many of us will make it? Only time can tell. The first ones to fall will be those who just realized that psychology is not at all what they thought it was. Soon those who can't read english will disappear. (The books and tests are in english) Then the undisciplined and lazy ones will be gone and last to fall will be the scared and the doubtful. I can already see it in their eyes, I'm one of them. Somehow I always pull through. What I lack in confidence I make up for in the ability to push myself.

We have to pass 6 out of nine multiple choice test to be allowed to take the exam. On the exam we have to answer 6 out of seven questions in 6 hours. Two of them will be about the history of psychology.

The curriculum consist of one giant brick of a book with 900 pages. We have to read it all and remember everything. Then there is one history book, it is not so big and not as important. There is also a number of articles. I assume that I will have to spend at least 3 hours a day with my psychology studies to get a good grade. I can do this!

The main book Thankfully it has a lot of good illustrations and pictures in it and it is very organised and well written.

The history book is in Norwegian, which makes it a bit easier.

Before the lecture I took some time to make a healthy breakfast, Avocadoes and Tomatoes with olive oil, salt, pepper balsamic and some bread. It served me well today.

The road from the subway to the psychological institute is a beautiful walk through a field with a great view of the sunny sky. It made me feel optimistic and calm.

The institute is located by a psychiatrical hospital, on the outskirts of campus.

We have well known and highly competent psychology professors in the lectures. The one we we had today was this guy:

Rolf Reber from Germany. He is a professor in cognitive psychology and have also written some articles about emotions and aesthetics according to the university website. He was funny and interesting to listen to. He talked about the usefulness of psychology and the scientific methods. He also gave us a lot of practical information and talked about interesting psychological phenomenons like how astrology can trick us into reading our horoscope and many other exiting things.

My “notes”


I also talked to a few of the students I sat next too. One girl had finally gotten into the profession studies to become an actual working psychologist after 3 years of hard work to get high enough grades. You need to have A in all exams to get into psychology profession studies. Thankfully the pressure is not as high for a useless philosophy student.

I hope you enjoyed taking a look inside the life of a university student. I will keep posting about my life at Uni. so follow me if you find it interesting.

Sort:  

Yes that was a very interesting read and I'll definately follow your other posts.
UPVOTED and followed.
Would you mind taking a look at might latest post. It might help with the stress that you face.
https://steemit.com/life/@kus-knee/the-old-dog-investigates-is-laughter-really-the-best-medicine

thank you! and great article :D really helpful

Hi @camilla, thanks for sharing. If you decide your lectures are not particularly interesting, Yale's Paul Bloom has a pretty good introduction to psychology series on YouTube. If you haven't already seen it, you might find it useful.
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL6A08EB4EEFF3E91F

that is a great tip! thank you :)

Very nice photos. I will also support others, learning about psychology because it makes you realise about other people and what they expect from you. I recently read a book whom title was "Psychology Cybernetics" . It helped me a lot to gain confidence and learn about behaviour. By the way Nice post @camilla

That sounds like a very interesting book, thank you for your comment :)

@camilla, thanks for so colourfull post. It made me to return some memories from my student being. Human's internal world is such interesting theme for investigation. I think it has so many endless ways to find more and more answers and new questions about people, their behaviour and thoughts. Is there something special you want to find out during your education? Some concrete part of psychology?

Im very interested to find out more about the human brain and how it works, I look forward to learn about decision making, memory, identity and conciousness, Have you studied psychology?

I didn't yet. I have master's degree in tourism. We had some classes of psychology. Later I worked in HR sphere. It was a position between company and its staff. Every day I had to communicate with my colleagues to find a balance between values of company and desires of people that work in it. Sometimes I had to announce not pleasant news to them, but make it in positive way.. So I had to be attentive and careful, try to understand mind and soul of each of my colleagues.
And it was interesting period that was a good psychology practice.

Now I have a long term vacation being at home with my son. I'm writing poems and essay (mostly in russian and ukrainian, but steemit inspires to work on translation to English:) Also I started to work on short fairy tales.
Writing is one of ways to change people, I think. From just giving a smile to global changes in person's consciousness. I like this and I think that later I could have second higher education - probably psychology:). @camilla, your post reminds me about past times and inspires for future! Keep posting:)

Posted about the University of other countries is interesting.
And interesting because I do not know about psychology.
Thank you.

It seems very difficult to get admitted. Great job and good luck with your studies!

Thank you ana3drandom! For me it was not so hard to get admitted because it is just my 40 group, my main subject is philosophy. It is much harder for the full time psychology students who wants a career in psychology.

Well I'm sure you will have some great posts from the psychology classes.

I would like to follow you, thank you for following me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67633.57
ETH 2605.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71