Ray McGovern Pays Tribute to Unity4J and Suzie Dawson #FreeAssange

in #unity4j5 years ago


PLEASE DONATE to:

Alternative links for Julian Assange/WL donations:

QUOTES.from this Ray McGovern clip:
"I just want to express my appreciation to Suzie, and to the untold thousands [of Julian supporters] who have made the millions [of social media impressions] possible."

"Once Julian was cut off from the rest of the world, not only he needed support and some affirmation that people cared, but the rest of us did too. I remember the first livestream, and I guess this is a little untoward but I enjoyed it. It was very,very affirming thing for me to see the other people who felt as strongly as I did - about Julian, and the honour that we hold him in, and the respect."

[Ray describes explaining to his grandson that he is growing his beard in solidarity with Julian, after the way he looked when he was dragged out of the Embassy.

"I can't get that photo out of my mind. I've been dragged out of nice places too, but I never showed the effects of having been in virtual solitary confinement for seven years. So this is my little solidarity show here [strokes his beard]. ... [Solidarity] is one of those things that are really important, and not only solidarity with Julian, but solidarity with one another. It makes me feel that I am not alone, I'm not crazy. and that there is hope."

"An hour ago [Suzie Dawson] sent me an advance copy of Part 2 of 'Freeing Julian Assange' and all I can say is this is an investigative journalist of the calibre of Robert Perry, John Kiriakou. I just wish, Suzie, that way back in the day, when I was head of the Soviet Foreign Policy Branch, that you were old enough to work for me. She's done an incredible job on Part 2, and it's very, very relevant to WikiLeaks and all that's going on right now, and it's a big gift to the rest of us because now we know that this British-US nexus, where they are trying to get Julian, making sure that people thought he was a Russian stooge - that started, not in 2016, but in 2009. And Suzie documents that."

Ray McGovern, worked as a CIA analyst for 27 years from 1963 to 1990. He chaired National Intelligence Estimates and prepared the President’s Daily Brief. He received the Intelligence Commendation Medal at his retirement but returned it in 2006, to protest the CIA’s involvement in torture. In 2003 Ray co-founded Veteran Intelligence Professionals for Sanity (VIPS).
https://twitter.com/@raymcgovern
https://raymcgovern.com/

Suzie Dawson, co-founder of the #Unity4J movement, is a journalist, activist and head of the New Zealand Internet Party.
https://twitter.com/Suzi3D

Source Video:
#Unity4J Online Vigil 34.0 in support of Julian Assange and WikiLeaks -

With Thanks to Eschatus for the intro and outro music and video contribution.

Julian Assange Pinterest library: speeches, articles, videos, quotes and more

Sort:  

Congratulations @unity4j! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67