Shooter - Experimenting with physics joints!

in #unity7 years ago (edited)

Spring Snapshot.jpg

https://www.bitchute.com/video/dFevtWIxmbOr/ - Spring Joint Testing 1

https://www.bitchute.com/video/eMEYm4ypLw0q/ - Spring Joint Testing 2

Got something brand new for you today guys, physics joints! I don't know why I hadn't tried experimenting with them before because they look like a lot of fun, seems to be a lot of settings to work out though so it might be a bit before I get something properly functional up and running.

What are physics joints you ask? Well they're used for a variety of things, door hinges, so if you want a realistic door of some kind you can set one up. I even read that you could use these physics joints as a way of creating a sticky grenade which looks like a lot of fun, perhaps I could even look at maybe creating some sort of remote explosive to play with.

There's also quite a few examples where they've used physics joints to create a ball attached to a chain, so if you want to create all kinds of physics traps then these unity features are absolutely perfect. There are also 2D variants of this as well so it may be worth me creating new levels in the future and patching them into Rabbit and the moon after I learn how to use these features properly.

What I've started off with is very basic I'm afraid, nothing too impressive for the moment, but I think what I will do is create an entirely seperate level where I can more freely experiment with what's going on here I think I will focus for now on just the basics of getting a function door. Like when you press E perhaps and then that adds force to swing the door open or I will work on the ball and chain idea and maybe have a way of shooting that and moving about.

Edit: I just wanted to check, is anyone else having streaming issues with my bitchute videos every now and then? There are times when I load them up and they don't work 100% and then I have to re-upload to fix the problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63211.44
ETH 2631.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71