Unity Shooter - Alien Drone imported into the game engine

in #unity8 years ago (edited)

https://gfycat.com/AllDeadlyAmericanblackvulture

So I got the alien drone into the into the game engine, I now even have a legit cone and a flashing light going on with some movement to give the impression it's floating. To achieve all these little effects, for the light I keyframed the intensity to 0 and back to a number I thought looked right. If newbies want a tip on how to get that sort of flashing and glowing effect the key is consistency, if you are changing colours a lot you need to have whatever values you're changing increment equally, so for instance what I did with the blue light in make the intensity go up and down by 0.1 each time, that's it. That way you don't have any issues with the light suddenly jumping up in intensity and looking weird, the same goes for the floating, make sure you don't increment by different amounts so you can't have it go up by 0.1 and then 0.2 unless of course you want it to jump on purpose.

The line of sight cone I made I actually found out a method just by searching the internet as you do, you make a transparent gradient in photoshop ( That means alpha turned down all the way to 0 for the end 'colour' be sure to save as PNG so that the engine will pick up that it's transparent ) and then you place an additive particle material onto a cone shape. All I did because I just wanted a simple cone was import a cone primitive from Maya and that meant I could easily change the scale and so on without much bother until it match things properly. From what I've seen apparently you can do very simple light shafts and so on within Unity using this method as that is what the tutorial was originally for but it may be better shelling out some money if you want proper volumetric lighting.

It looks quite nice now, almost there, there's only two major problems, one, it looks rather plain still doesn't it? Especially when combined with the light tricks, that's because I haven't done any texturing on it yet, so I think that will be my next task art wise. The next is that I haven't gotten the navmesh agent working with it yet because of course it's floating I'm also running into minor issues with adjusting the agent collider and so on to properly go into the centre of the drone because this is an imported model. I will have to do some studying on the subject and see how I can deal with it, in the meantime maybe I could work on the texturing and get it looking a lot more metallic perhaps some bumpmapping? Or maybe I just need to put some scratches and plating to make it look as if it's been welded together rather than just a solid block.

Note: I wasn't sure but it looks like the navmesh agent issue will probably be easy to fix, I just need to make an empty and parent the 3D model to that and I'll be able to position everything properly and put the patrol code in, hurray!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41