You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is your 'off grid' score?

in #ungrip7 years ago

I scored 173. I have one foot in both worlds. Still a programmer, but am set up if the system collapses. I live about an hour north of the nearest city (Syracuse) and this is all farmland, Amish country.

My father would probably score above 200 as he does most of the time consuming growing and farming chores while I do the heavy stuff like chopping wood that he's too old to do.

Learning to program blockchain tech doesn't jive well with this and I try to manage the conflict. One last ditch effort to hopefully corner authority by leveraging the borderless properties of the internet and blockchain technology to make their positions either obsolete or impossible to corrupt.

Strangely enough, they are faced with the same scenario to try to keep power to themselves, either shut off the internet and go back to the stone age, or embrace it and lose control eventually.

The problem is with that last word eventually. A digital panopticon is something we might end up with in between and it's impossible to say for sure how long.

Sort:  

I agree. My background is IT and I grew up when computers first went into the high school and worked the industry for over 20 years. I don't make many friends saying this, but technology is only a tool. How we use it will depend on whether we can work through the changes or not. Some see Steem as a saviour, but I see it as a tool. If people used Steem to fund and educate their move off grid and build inter-independent relationships with one another, then we will be fine. But to use Steem to make currency so that they can maintain or increase their current life style, that is a very dangerous path to follow. A 173 score is actually really good as you are well on your way. Keep up the great work!

Sounds like we're about the same age.

It all takes time. At least you are working in some ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52