You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Our Earthship Build - 2007/08/09

in #ungrip7 years ago

Nice post.
I couln't tell from the pictures but how are your cisterns protected from freezing? Are they partially buried?

Sort:  

I have insulation panels around the sides and on top. It is buried around the sides, but no earth on the top. So the corners of the cisterns are completely exposed and that is why I get ice on the tops during the winter. I have work yet to do in order to keep the ice out.

I have to figure out a probably gravity fed sand filtration system for North Carolina where it freezes in the winter. Or even better a biological filter but not sure how they do with cold temperature. So much to learn and so little time! :-)

Lots of ideas and solutions out there. It is a matter of finding one that works for what you are looking for. I'm sure you will figure it out. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49