You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing with off-grid emergencies and how to prepare

in #ungrip7 years ago (edited)

Good to hear your son is OK. You can be assured that he will not be so cavalier when it comes to chainsaws in the future!

But what you write about, understanding from experience, cannot be over emphasized. I grew up on a ranch and what I learned there shaped the rest of my life. You learn about life, death, and the fine line that separates them. You learn how to be resourceful and solve whatever problem presents. But mostly you learn responsibility.
It seems that's what's lost these days. The character to stand up and say "I'm responsible!" Not my family, not my friends, not my neighbours, and surely not my government but I alone accept full responsibility not only for my actions but for whatever circumstances come my way. If a horse kicks you in the head or a cow hooks you with her horn it's not their fault. It's your fault.
We might die young but we'll know why we died.
Is there a path left that can lead us into responsibility?

Sort:  

Boom!!!! I love what you said. I really do!!!! I grew up on a farm and I learned much through that process, that I am now appreciating more and more. Not many people have that experience or opportunity like you said. When I was growing up, farm kids got all the good jobs because people knew that the kids were capable, responsible and hard working. Not many farm kids any more! Yes, @yulem, I sooooo agree with you my friend. Thank you for stating this so brilliantly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66