Retro fitting a wood stove to burn pellets

in #ungrip6 years ago

My mother-in-law struggled physically with cord wood this past winter and wants something a bit easier to deal with for the next season.  She contemplated getting a propane heater or even buying a new pellet stove.  However, those solutions cost several thousand dollars, money she does not have.  So with some research, I figured out that building a wire basket for her wood stove would allow her to burn pellets or cord wood.  I built a prototype basket to temporarily see if it would work.  

My prototype worked very well.  I had some stainless steel wire mesh and built the basket with that.  I had to put some tin underneath for support, but it did very well.  Pellets needs the wire mesh as it needs the air to flow through the pellets.  It does not burn like cord wood and should have full air, never being dampened.  That got me thinking, dangerous pastime I know: pellets burn much like coal ... and I have a wood cook stove that burns wood or coal.  Pellets would do really well in my wood cook stove!  

Except the cast iron grates for the stove were a bit big for pellets.  However, with a quick fix, I put the same wire mesh over top the cast iron grates and it holds pellets very well.  I'm now rendering fat so that we can make some home made donuts, using a few hand fulls of pellets in my wood cook stove at this very moment. 

So now we have an alternative for my mother-in-law for the next winter season and it did not require any significant change in infrastructure.  I now have a third fuel that I can burn in my cook stove as well.  We were told that some people only use a bag a day, and around here we can pick them up for about $6 a bag.  While it is not free, it does save me a lot of work and helps her heat her home with a fuel she can handle easily with her decreased mobility and strength.  The longer we can keep her independent the better.  I think this is a win for her and me!  

Click here for more information on how to join The Virtue Circle
Click here to join us on Discord.  

Sort:  

This seems like an excellent win-win situation. The longer we can be independent as we grow older the better it is for us and our families. This is especially true as we grow older on the homestead. I have to work smarter as my physical strength decreases as I age. I have no intention of living in an old folks home!

I have no intention of being looked after by the system either! I will die on this land and it will be a good death. Every strategy we can find to extend our time here will be used. This is one such strategy. Win-win indeed!

Brilliant use of that noggin of yours.

Thanks. <3 :)

What an genius thought you had there. I bet your mother in law was just as excited as you were about her being able to maintain her independence for a longer period of time. That you basket works for you as well what a double bonus. Donuts sound good. yummmy

I have used wood pellets as kindling to start my fire. I also carry a small amount in my hiking pack.

Nice idea. Light and compact too.

My friends and I found a small wood stove once, abandoned and in disrepair. Setting it up so that it burns pellets as you've described is pure genius and would allow us to pack pellets in AND keep them dry, rather than being forced to chop and pack cord wood. This is a fantastic idea!

Glad you like the idea. :) I love the fact that you rescued the stove. Bravo!

I seem your mother-in-law is a very intelligent person

She is. We all are, when our own talents and skills are allowed to flourish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53