"I AM responsible"

in #ungrip7 years ago

If we are brave enough to repeat those words and then explore every situation to find our own culpability, then that would result in a revolution.  It is far to easy to blame others.  What if we decided to sit back, reflect and explore how our own actions or inaction contributed to the situations we see unfolding around us?  What would happen if we all started doing that?  What would it look like?

This level of self-governance and self responsibility is sobering.  But let's go down that path and see what it looks like as all our relationships in our lives are impacted by this simple yet difficult exercise.  


Source:  Google Maps

This is a satellite image of just one of the mine sites north of Fort McMurray where the bitumen is removed from the sand to be processed into oil, petroleum and other products.  This causes a tremendous environmental mess and will be a catastrophe for all life in the area.  I AM responsible and directly interested in this as I live within the Athabasca water shed!  

How can that be that I AM responsible for this mess?  As a consumer, I make demands on the economy through the purchase of products and services.  That economy functions on the principles of supply and demand.  So what is a demand?

Demand:  1.  The act of demanding or asking by virtue of right or authority.  2.  The action of demanding.  3.  Law.  The action or fact of demanding in legal form; a legal claim.  4.  The calling for a thing in order to purchase it.  A call for a commodity on the part of consumers, combined with the power to purchase.  - Oxford Unabridged Dictionary (1958)
Call: 7.  Demand, requisition, claim.  8.  A requirement of duty - Oxford Unabridged Dictionary (1958)

When I have a dollar bill, it provides me with a right to demand from somebody else, that they provide me with the products or services that I desire.  Who ever answers the call is then under a duty to provide those goods or services.  Most people call this capitalism, but I question whether this is actually extortion instead as it involves rights, authority and power to make it all work.  Most people don't see the relationship in this way and would argue that it still requires free will choice to contract in order for the exchange to work.  The problem with that argument is that we are all so helplessly dependent, that we are under a tremendous amount of pressure to engage in those contracts just so that we can survive.  That is coercion!  

For me this goes even deeper as it touches on a foundational principle in healthy relationships.  If I do indeed love myself and work hard to love my neighbour as myself, am I expressing that love by demanding anything from others?  Do I have a right or some level of authority over them to make such demands?  Of course not.  Instead, I'm using the authority granted to me by the mere fact that I possess tokens of that authority and I'm willing to wield them around like a sword.

So now I'm confronted with being responsible for trespassing against my neighbour with the common act of using power, authority and violence in order to purchase products or services.  As a result of that, people are now under tremendous amounts of pressure to provide and as a result, we end up with environmental catastrophes which does irreparable harm to every living creature, plant and organism on this planet AND we make our neighbours hopelessly dependent which is an equally heinous crime.  

I AM responsible for that because I engage in coercive behaviour with a simple purchase. I can make similar connections when it comes to natural gas to heat my home, food to stock my fridge or electricity to bring light to my dinner table.

How about the taxes we pay?  Money, voting and lobbying are demands to pressure the government to provide goods and services. But some of those demands also goes towards bombing other countries, engaging in war, genocide, theft and other atrocities.  The state is founded on a monopoly of force, which is far away from the standards of loving my neighbour.  

I AM responsible for all of that as well through my participation with that system.  The blood of others is on my hands even if I did not pull the trigger or drop the bomb.  

So how can I reconcile my responsibility for all of this?  I do so by working hard to reduce or even eliminate the demands I make on others.  If I truly love my self and my neighbours, I cannot justify demanding anything from them.  That means I AM responsible for providing for myself and my family. I AM responsible for influencing others to make similar choices in their own expression of love.  

That is the justification behind living off grid and working so hard to UNGRIP from the grid.  The grid is far larger and more invasive than any of us can imagine.  Even I'm still learning the depths of how far this grid goes.  

While I may not be personally responsible for the direct actions or inaction of others, I AM responsible for the violence that I engaged in through my demands upon them.  It is not fair, healthy, loving or righteous.  The consequences of those choices are profound and sobering. 

What we need now more than anything else is to be blunt regarding our participation in the violence and coercion of others, no matter how overt or covert that may be.  Our POWER to purchase is very strong and requires the same due diligence that is demanded when we hold a loaded gun.  

 For the love of money is the root of all evil: which while some coveted after, they have erred from the faith, and pierced themselves through with many sorrows. - 1 Timothy 6:10

Money is power and if we lust for power over our neighbours, then we have forsaken them.  That is not love. I AM responsible to ensure that I don't forsaken my neighbour, but instead love them!  I work hard to eliminate all my demands which requires that I return to the land and build a direct one-on-one relationship with Creator and Mother Earth. 


Sort:  

Very great article. Such powerful words. Reminds me of the 100 monkey effect. I very much agree we are the change we wish to see in the world. It starts with me.
I find it hard at times to remember that for every action there is a reaction. Walking the talk.
But at the end of the day it is so rewarding, to know that i am one step closer (even when i feel i am taking steps backwards).
I am grateful for you, i am grateful for the responsibility i am taking on. Thank you for sharing a great reminder!

My dear friend, you have been a wonderful example of what I speak about and I'm honoured to be your friend and a witness to your journey!

You will not be able to stop the wars or stand in the face of injustice wherever is it... and you will not be able to eradicate poverty in this land,... but when you shut up, you will be like a dumb devil.
You can change the world by changing the way of your seeing this world.
You can change the world by helping someone for reach to his target.
You can change the world by a smile in the face of a person shattered by life.
You can change the world by planting a beautiful idea of life in a child's heart...
And you can change this world by stopping helping feudal governments.
$1 is worth nothing... but it's part of the price of a bullet against innocents.
You're not alone responsible..my brother @wwf . all we are responsible.

Brilliantly reflected my friend. Bravo! Thank you for making the choice to stand beside me in solidarity and peace.

Thank you so much my brother @wwf ... I did choose this... Any healthy mind and pure heart will choose to stand beside you in solidarity and peace......
the problem of many people is to pollute their hearts with physical life and personal interests...
and we don't have to stay without doing anything... We must try to clean those hearts with the ideas of peace and solidarity... Steemit given us a great opportunity, and we have to exploit this.

I agree. It has been a long, hard struggle. At times I get tired. But I will push on and with you and other standing beside me, it makes the journey a little bit easier. Peace to you brother! You Rock!

Taking full responsibility for our lives is one of the most challenging and rewarding things we can do. Too often we blame others for where we are and the state of our world. But we continue to contribute to that world by being complacent with what is already here. If we want change, we must first change ourselves. Going off-grid is an amazing feat, I am starting with smaller steps, but hope to lighten my own burden and take responsibility for my own life and surroundings.

I agree with you brother. Kudo's for you for seeing that the power rests within. Gandhi once said:

“If we could change ourselves, the tendencies in the world would also change. As a man changes his own nature, so does the attitude of the world change towards him. ... We need not wait to see what others do.”

The only thing we can change is inside, the outside follows from that, love your quote, I've been reading this guy Neville Goddard, what he says lines up with your quote above, change yourself and the world will change with you :)

This is a lot to consider.

It seems to me that as we start thinking over these things, they always open ramifications to other things that are equally as deep or even deeper.

It's like the clearing in the forest, you are in the middle and see 10 trees, but if you fall one you'll see 2 behind so now you'll see 11 trees and 1 stump.

No wonder philosophers would spend their days thinking and have too much on their plate.

Cheers brother!

That sounds about right eh! I must contemplate how to bring a balance to that as I explore these questions at the same time. How do I live my life while trying to implement these kinds of ideas. At one point I decided that I wanted to declare peace and that opened up a whole range of questions to ponder. But it also made it very simple to close a few doors too, which many still hold open without realizing just how violent their actions really are.

In the end, I would rather contemplate these ideas peacefully with the hope that we can implement some of the ideas, than ponder them through the bars and chains of slavery with little to no hope of seeing where they would take us.

Peace to you brother.

We are all responsible for our actions and how they affect others either directly or indirectly. If I take some fiat currency and take it to to town to buy goods, were those goods produced ethically?

In this country probably not. Most products come from countries that use children as slave labour. Or use chemicals that have been banned for years in developed countries.

If I am taking my responsibility seriously, then I need to think about where those products are coming from and do I really need them? Can I use something else that is more ethical and sustaining?

When I go into town do I drive my jeep, or do I take a 45 year old bus that spews contaminents form its exhaust? I can't help but think about these things when I visit larger communities that have a layer of smog and many small chldren are suffering with asthma due to the pollution.

I walk or bike to a lot of places when I can. A horse may become an option. If everyone did their small part, the world would be a much better place.

I agree my friend. Bravo to you for recognizing the demands that you are placing on others and the environment. Well done! Kudo's to you!

All of my brothers and sisters contributed a lot through their logical points to this discussion.
As Mr. Rob(the vessel name) aka @wwf stated above

As a consumer, I make demands on the economy through the purchase of products and services. That economy functions on the principles of supply and demand.

One more point is much needed to be discussed here that is why we are so compelled to be dependent upon this system that is the actual production of the Feudal Lords. The thing is we are taught to obey this system, we are taught to follow this system, we are discouraged through certain sanctions if we disobey their brutality and selfish approach. Yes, we are being harmed!

They (Lords) consider us some robots and use us according to their will just to control us, yes we all are responsible for this thing. If we stay united and don't find with each other then they can not break our brotherhood at all. This mother land belongs to every single creation of the TRUE GOD no one has authority or power to control others will until unless that is harmful for the functionality of the society.
Yes, The Spiritual being @wwf we all are responsible for what we are actually facing in this world :(

Thank you brother. Well said. The only thing I need to address is the title 'Mr.'. I cannot and will not accept any titles and Mr. is one of them. So please don't use the Queens titles when addressing me. :) Otherwise, well said.

I apologize for the mistake My Best friend and Spiritual Brother @wwf actually none told me before that this thing the titles like Mr. and Miss are also the production of this sick system...

I forgive you brother. I've written about it many times, but our fellow Steward of Terra Mater wrote up a good post about it.

https://steemit.com/anarchy/@realtreebivvy/brainwashed-part-4

@realtreebivvy did the issue justice!

Oh thank you so very much and i will read this post to learn more :)

We are proud of you @realtreebivvy Bravo <3

Thank you my friend for the kind words - you might also like :-
https://steemit.com/legal/@realtreebivvy/don-t-be-dead-give-yourself-a-head
As i see a lot of people using a capitalisation for themselves on posts.
i agree with @wwf wise words - However i never contemplated that by the very act of using fiat that i was placing a demand upon the very system that binds us, and inso doing, supporting that system - Thank you brother for connecting that dot... Personally i have never chased money or had any desire to attain it - when i met my wife 25 years ago, i gave her all i had and still do - my wife looks after all the money and in return, she lets me go fishing :)

I’ve never thought of a peer to peer transaction with currency could be viewed as coercion. But how you presented trade does make sense. Because we are all so dependent on the goods and services provided by “the grid” we are under massive pressure to both provide and purchase to survive. The question I have though is in what context is trade or market a non coercive endeavor? Or is the ideal the gift economy humans used for 99% of our existence?

I think that if we can get to a point where we are all independent and under no pressure to provide the basic necessities of life, that an equal exchange can be done without power, coercion, intimidation, dependency or need, then we may actually start getting towards a true function of trade based on mutual respect, decency and honour while taking our environment into consideration during the negotiations of our trade agreement.

Thank you. These are thoughts that have gone around in my head so much of late, but with so much confusion for me as I try to make sense of it all. It's as if you've tidied up that jumbled mess for me.

Yes, we keep buying what we know is causing harm, but it gets so hard to function and yes, survive, in this system without a lot of these things. I make steps to try and lesson my impact, but am vividly aware that it is, but a tiny dent. I know I can do so much more, but I'm exhausted by the attempts. It is so much easier to try and ignore the harm we are contributing to and carry on taking the easier path. Sorry, this is an extreme, but some days I feel like the only way I can stop contributing to the pain and harm we cause is to stop living. Of course this won't help at all, as it leaves behind only those who don't care to do anything.

Thank you for that quote. I've only ever heard it said incompletely as "money is the root of all evil" which never seemed quite right to me. After all, money is only a tool and a concept. It's how we use it that makes the difference. It is man that is capable of evil and not an inanimate object. The full quote makes much more sense.

There are days where I feel the same way. Sometimes I wonder what is the point as my little drop in the ocean is lost. But I do know that I am influencing people along the way, much like my relationship with you. We can make a difference and when one drop joins another, after a while it becomes a tidal wave that can cleans the land and rejuvenate the earth. I feel like that tidal wave is starting to form and I trust that Creator is guiding that wave as we all work towards our own individual goals. He will take care of the global issues. I truly believe that I don't have to know the whole picture. Just my little piece of the puzzle. He has the rest.

Thank you for a reminder to think positive.

I have a desire to go off grid for lot’s of reasons but I never thought about how this would be an act that showed love for my neighbor. You always look at things from such interesting angles. I love your posts.

Thank you @firststeps. It is one of the driving reasons why we went off grid. Being dependent upon others and having them being dependent on me was so abusive, that we had to make that leap if we wanted to explore what a loving relationship looked like. My wife and I look at all our relationships from a very different paradigm as a result of the lessons we learned going through our troubles in the 90's through 2001. I am grateful that I am able to articulate what we see in a way that others can comprehend. Peace to you.

This post gives me a deep thought and reflection.
Many people are running away from responsibilities that is why they are afraid of saying the word "I am responsible". If we really think it deep about the government and our environment as well as people around us that the impact of our actions can either make or mar things. Then we will learn how to be fair in everything we do.

Thanks for sharing this @wwf

Regards @funkylove

I am grateful that it gives you an opportunity for deep thought and reflection! Peace to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75