Thermal mass stock water tank - Video

in #ungrip6 years ago


Here is my first video where I explain how we keep the water for our animals from freezing in the winter. We experience temperatures as low as -40C/-40F and we get about 4-6 months of winter. So having a way to keep water from freezing without the use of electricity is important. The thermal mass stores heat much like a battery stores electricity. We use this principle to help us keep the water from freezing solid during the winter. I hope this helps. If you want to see other videos about specific topics, please don't hesitate to ask.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Bloody brilliant!!! :) Question...how did you effectively seal the open end of the barrel before you cut it in half? This is something that I am really going to try. Its on my list!!! Great video! Looking forward to more!

There are two holes to seal. What I did was to put some rubber tube over the hole and then hold it in place with a piece of metal that was drilled through the hole into a block of wood. Seems to work good. The other option is to cut the barrel in half through the two holes. This reduces the volume slightly, but then does not require any work to seal holes.

I like option 2. :) the lids on my barrels come off. any thoughts on how to seal that without a torch? could I use plastic? i don't think it would melt. but would there be offgassing into the water? when heated?

hahaha. I tried a plastic tank. It worked ... until the animals drank all the water and the plastic melted. If you use plastic tanks, you have to make sure it is ALWAYS full of water. As for leaching into the water, there are food grade tanks, but some research will need to be done to ensure that they don't leach. The thing to remember is that the plastic will only get as hot as the water. So +20C water in the winter is very warm. +10C would be better. No chance of off gassing then.

I think i have everything here to build it...now...to just keep the ducks out of it!

:) Yes, that is a challenge. hahaha

I have not seen this. This is a great improvement over what you had in in the past. Good work and nice video.

It's been sitting there for about 3 years, so I'm surprised you have not seen it yet. lol May have to come and do chores to see all the changes. wink wink

My bad. I guess I saw it, but missed the significance. I could check it out today.

Again I'm super proud of you guys. This is wonderful and really useful knowledge.

good initiative to save electricity, in my country weather is too hot

You could use thermal mass to help cool the water as well. :)

We need it because we are facing shortage of electricity here in summer,

Awesome first video @wwf!! That looks totally doable. Where/ how do you get water at your property? For you & for the animals? This is going to be a great series!!

Our water comes from the sky! ;) With this device, I can melt snow during the winter. I hope you enjoy the videos. Next one is about our solar food dehydrator.

Do you use anything to filter it? I am looking forward to the videos!! Good for you for putting them together 👍👍

For the animals, no. For us, we treat with H2O2 and filter the water through a particle and carbon filter. Topic for another post. ;)

Wow...what a great device...in this weather this device is very useful to us...thanks to @wwf

You have found an ingenious way to keep the water from freezing. I guess it is true, necessity is the mother of all inventions. Having water for the animals is paramount. We don't have freezing conditions, but we have a drought, every year. We were at seven months with no rain, until last night. Needless to say we are very happy this morning!

Hey, right on. So was that about a week when I put the order in? lol

I think it was! You have a great connection with the Man upstairs! LOL

@wwf Awesome Video !! Does Fully Doable Drink Your Property Drink? It's for you and animals. Is going to be a great series

resteem

You asked a question, but I have no idea what you are saying. Can you rephrase the question please?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68405.60
ETH 2641.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69