Does this planet suffer from saviour / hero complex?

in #ungrip7 years ago

When I looked up the terms 'messiah complex' or 'hero syndrome', I found descriptions regarding the individual who wants to be the messiah or hero.  My discussion is going to flip that definition around as I want to discuss the idea that the majority of people actually want somebody to save them.  

Our pop culture is filled with situations were a hero swoops in to save the day and I suspect that is why the super hero movies, comics and other media is so popular.  

Are we so weak and helpless that we need somebody else to 'save' the day?  I've witnessed this very situation here on Steemit as well and it was sobering to watch.  

Whether people are consciously aware of it or not, our whole social structures are established to be completely dependent upon others for help.  Rather than being 100% responsible and accountable for our own lives, we have surrendered that responsibility to others.

  • If we get sick, we seek a doctor.
  • If we feel threatened, we call the police.
  • If we don't like what others are doing, we call upon our politicians to pass laws.
  • If we feel sad or depressed, we pop pills.
  • If our land is under threat of invasion, we call upon the military.
  • If our economy tanks, we call upon the rich.
  • If a bully terrorizes the school yard, we look for a bigger bully to take them down.

I would even suggest that billions just sit around and wait to be "saved" by a "messiah" as well, desperate to be pulled out of their situation through some sort of rapture.  

Who is the hero and where are they now?

Look in the mirror.  

One of my best friends once told me:

You cannot just lay down in the field and expect God to build a house around you.  You will need to stand up, get to work and then God will help.  

In my view, he is absolutely correct.  This feudal system that has grown up around us encourages dependency and helplessness.  The people of this planet have been conditioned for obedience so that they can be farmed like animals.  What is needed now is independence and peaceful non-compliance so that we can break free from the cages that confine our minds, bodies and spirit!

We cannot and should not depend upon others to save us from the systems that enslave, rape and pillage the planet.  What is required now is to look within, find the courage, strength and determination to rise up and be the change!  Time to rally around that super hero we find each morning in the mirror!  

When we step up to be the change, that is when our health improves, the bullies quake in fear and the politicians start to scurry back to the dark corners upon where they govern.  It demands that we be peaceful through this process.  Non-violence and peaceful non-compliance is the spiritual path that I believe we must follow.  

If you want to enter into life, keep the commandments.  I can testify that when we declare peace and fully engage in life where we accept 100% responsibility and accountability for our selves, we end up doing a lot of living!   It is our job to do the work while we are here.  There is no short cut or easy way through this.  

Lead by example.  Inspire others to do the same.  I know each and every single one of us has the capacity to for super hero level accomplishments.  What I know, think or believe is irrelevant.  What matters most is what YOU know, think and believe!  

I've spent years training people in the martial arts.  The greatest barrier I found through that training was the students own self limiting beliefs. It was also difficult to break those those barriers.  But when the individual made the attempt and did the work, they not only broke through but also grew by leaps and bounds as a result!  We are our own worst bullies and enemies.  

I have faith in you.  Do you?  

Sort:  

The people of this planet have been conditioned for obedience so that they can be farmed like animals.

This conditioning starts very young in the educational system. Of course, it carries on through with a job being told when to be somewhere, what time to take a break, and when to leave.

I agree with the idea that people are always looking towards big brother. People will talk about freedom, hating having big brother looking over their shoulders, yet when push comes to shove, they are the first to scream for someone to do something about it.

The victimization mindset is a powerful weapon. I learned early on that I wasnt going to stay sober as long as I was a victim. This is a condition that most under the throws of addiction clink to. The rationalization and justification gets a lot easier when one is pointing out all the wrongs the world did to him.

Responsibility is a tough thing. It is much easier to blame others. This absolves one of having to take action although, ironically, they do end up suffering the consequences.

In the end, we are responsible for the lives we lead. I like your view on things @wwf....thanks for helping me to grow.

I think it's necessary to have a bigger brother... But as a guide to us, not as a leader.
When we have a big brother, he has a long experience and great wisdom that helps us grow fast and shorten a lot of time...
thank you @taskmaster4450

It is one thing to have a mentor...it is another to have a jailer.

One loves, the other enslaves.

Responsibility is a tough thing. It is much easier to blame others.

Oh man, I was blaming others most my life. Once I stepped out of that and took responsibility things really started to change for me. It's a hard thing, but a necessary thing. Everyone is responsible for where they are whether they know it or not. The more we blame others, the more we give away our power to change things

Isnt that the truth @jakeybrown.

That is why every spiritual teaching mentions going within. The answers are not outside of us because that is not where the power resides. Inside is where we find the connection to pure consciousness....the power of the universe.

When we are focusing upon what others did, their actions, and trying to change them, we are in for a long waiting game.

The only one to be changed is me....that is where the power lies.

Of course, outer situations and people reflect back to me what I need to learn and apply. Life presents mirrors to me each day of the stuff I do not like about myself which requires attention.

Sadly few take the opportunity to embrace the images in the mirror and be grateful for the opportunity to point out an area where I am falling short.

Yes, our outer world is always teaching us, we just need to remain open and listen to what it has to say :)

I did not realize you were once an addict like myself. I'm not sure why, but it seems that it requires spending some time in the darkness in order to find the inner strength and light to work through it. The journey to accomplish that is difficult and requires hard work. But the benefits of doing that work are astounding to behold.

Bravo to you for having the courage to confront yourself, do the hard work and come out the other side. It is my honour my friend and spiritual brother!

Yes and through that addiction I learned how senseless fighting is. I fought alcohol a lot...most every day...and the record is perfect...I never won. Alcohol was the bigger foe.

It was only when I surrendered, ceased fighting it, embraced it for what it is...the power it wields...the lessons I learned, that I started to overcome it.

Over my two decades on this path, I realized that applies to all aspects of life. When I am fighting the problem "out there", I am in for a loss. Whatever the foe, it is too great for me.

"We ceased fighting anyone or anything..."

An excerpt from our literature.

...And we surrendered to a power higher than ourselves.

I cannot recall if it was the Buddha or a zen master who once said that for one to be enlightened one must first have suffered the afflictions of terrible physical disease. I would expand upon that by saying that the burden of addiction in its many forms will also put one through the refiners fire. I've done my fair share of groaning under the burden of affliction. The irony is that what I once hated, I've come to be grateful for. For it is the burning furnace of life that makes us what we are.

The irony is that what I once hated, I've come to be grateful for.

Amazing how our tormentor can become out best ally on the path of growth.

Good for you @taskmaster4450 for being brave enough to change! It's great to know you walk the good path. Your son is a lucky boy 💚💙

can verify, i saved myself. it was a conscious choice.

I had the same thoughts, the same process of noticing the dependency that was intentionally created.

I saved myself too! It took lots of hard work to recover, but I did it with the help of some people who had the courage to confront me and call me on my shit. Bravo to you @klevn. Bravo to you!!!

I think we are all the heroes. It may not seem like it now, but humanity has more power than we think. We are made in the image of God, just because we don't realize or understand that doesn't change it.

I think in the next few years we are going to see things start changing. One thing I feel is almost completely overlooked is our ability to change ourselves. To BE the change. I don't think we really understand what that means yet, but once we do things, and start finding the best in our world, things will start looking up.

YES!!! YES!!!! YES!!!

The philosophy of anarchy, in its most refined sense, is rooted in the concept of personal responsibility. Personal responsibility is the source and fountain of personal growth and spiritual evolution. One of the great curses of our time has been the rise of dependency upon the state, dependency upon authority and what others tell us we should be and what we should think, to be homogenized into a mindless cringing horde, regurgitating the evening news and the propaganda of those who enslave us.

You speak of a greater vision, a vision that in our minds, should be self evident to anyone with a wit of sense. But such is not the composition of humanity. Most of us it seems are content to be led, to forfeit our independence in trade for security and safety. Until we, as humans, understand our inherent potential and the possibility of individual Wholeness we are doomed.

Many blessings.

When Mary asked for help from God...
God asked her to shake the palm first and then he gave her food...
God was able to give her food without doing anything...
God created this life and created with it laws and laws of life that success comes after work .. is not a gift that comes without effort
That doesn't mean we don't need others... We as human beings are social creatures, and we must stay together and help each other to spread peace and love
thank you my brother @wwf

There are no superheroes in my closest waiting to rescue me. I need to fix my own problems. Sometimes I may not have the best solutions but they are mine and mine alone. If I fail, I pick up, learn from the experience and carry on!

YES! And these scripts (hero, saviour, victim and villain) are all a part of the same damaging story. We can step outside this paradigm...there are other ways of being which are much more powerful in changing outcomes.

Agreed! Thank you!

we alone are the hero, the other a fictitious or just a dream

We need to work and through pur work we succede. God is always There with us and make all things possible. I Guess the heroes are the ones who help , who support and everyone can be a hero

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.06
ETH 2563.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83