You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing with off-grid emergencies and how to prepare

in #ungrip7 years ago

Wow can't imagine the goat birth with two heads sticking out! Glad your son is okay, chainsaws kind of scare me but I think some fear towards them is healthy. I have a goat I am to slaughter for my first time very soon. Any tips or advice you might have on that is helpful. I have only ever slaughtered a rooster so I'm apprehensive but we plan to do it as a community so that helps.

Sort:  

There is some good articles on how to do it on www.motherearthnews.com. That will help you with the physical components, however I want to add more emotional, mental and spiritual aspects.

Keep in mind that the animal is a spiritual being as well. Tell it what is going to happen a few days ahead of time so that the animal can prepare as well. If you have some tobacco, give an offering to it's spirit so that you are not just 'taking' its vessel. Taking the life of a larger animal is much more difficult emotionally than a rooster. Be prepared for the emotional reaction. There is sadness, mourning and a range of other feelings that you will need to work through. Many people refuse to do the kill for this reason, but I think it is important that we have a deep connection with the animal until it's spirit leaves its body. Afterwards, it is just meat that will nourish your own bodies. But this is a spiritual event and I ask that the animal be respected during the process. That is how I tend to do things here and it helps me work through it all and ensure that I honour the animal the best way I know how. If you have customs of your own then you may want to draw upon them to help you and the animal.

Doing this with plants is also beneficial too. Something I learned from my indigenous brothers and sisters here. That is why I grow tobacco now. So that I have something to offer when we go harvesting in the bush. I pray this helps.

I think I will write a more detailed blog entry as you asked a very important question and I want to write about it in much more detail. Thank you for the idea.

Wow thankyou so much for the detailed response! I mostly meant advice on a spiritual level and you have certainly delivered! I appreciate it immensely. I do have organic whole leaf tobacco and plan to do exactly as you suggest :) I look forward to your post! <3

Also I believe anyone who eats meat should have to at least participate in it's harvest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67