You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Off-grid living demands balanced energy management

in #ungrip7 years ago

It must be so satisfying to know that you can survive a long-term blackout - or a permanent one.

Forgive me for asking, but have you given thought to defending your property should the shit really hit the fan? I wonder how long it would take for other people in the neighborhood to say, hey, @wwf is doing fine, let's go move in with him?

Or do you live in a greater community that's really on-board with this sustainable living, and more attuned to helping each other out in a time of trouble?

I hope the latter is the case. Of course I understand if you want to keep your defense plans secret!

Sort:  

To be honest, we felt very alone for a long time. However, something happened about a year ago and suddenly there are people all over that think like we do. I am confident that the community here is being heavily influenced by us and others. I don't think it will take much longer and the whole area will be on board with this way of life.

But we also living in a rural community. People out here help one another not attack. This is a way of life, unlike in the city. We know out here that 911 could be hours or even days away. As a result, the mentality here is that we all band together when things get tough. I'm not concerned. The people around here will figure it out and if that means asking me to teach or provide guidance and advice, I am confident that they will come to my gate for that reason, not to hold me up at the barrel of a gun!

That is really good to hear - and so different from the nightmare scenarios that spring to mind because of the way we've been conditioned to think by the news and popular "entertainment." I guess when you do live in an isolated place like that you really come to value the few people who live around you.

Indeed. Our lives depend on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51