You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The world is at war, Steemit the microcosm is reflecting the macrocosm

in #ungrip7 years ago

One point that I would like to add.

If the reward pool is amiss, people can downvote to pull the rewards from an individual.

However, if all those downvotes at 100% which were used to downvote poster A were given elsewhere, it would alter the reward pool drawing from poster A large percentage take.

Instead of downvoting his post (and others) to negative by blasting him with hundreds of dollars of downvotes, upvote another person with the same hundreds of dollars and have them trending.

I am sure there are thousands of minnows who would love that.

Sort:  

Yes, exactly and it was a point I missed talking about. Thank you for bringing it up. I notice that there is still steem left over from the pool that gets distributed to share holders. That means the pool is not even being used up completely. I agree with you @taskmaster4450, if people directed their energy to supporting the content that they like, it would have a huge impact on the pool and the steemit environment in a much more positive and constructive way. Thank you for raising that point. <3

I love your constructive answer to this situation @wwf.

My mea culpa was because I feel into the emotions/ego of the situation. I felt poster A was attacked too quickly without checking things out. Since that time, there certainly have been question raised about the situation (above and beyond the pissing contest back and forth).

What is most upsetting is I personally have seen posts that commented on the topic, by people not involved, downvoted by one side or the other.

To me, it is one thing to use downvotes when you think there is something amiss with the reward pool, it is another to downvote because you dont like something or want to silence it....that is entering into censorship which, as you pointed out, is what happens on the controlled sites.

Thank you @taskmaster4450. I witnessed the war and went digging around last night to see for myself. I could not be silent as my silence would mean that I agree with what is going on. I don't agree, so I had to speak up. However, how do we do that without resorting to violence? By getting on my own soap box and speaking my own truth. It may fall on deaf ears, but the ones with the eyes to see and the ears to hear will get the message. The more of us that lead by example will then have greater and greater influence over those who are blind or deaf to the spirit of this message. We can influence the war and end it without engaging at all. Of that I have no doubt. It takes longer and requires a leap of faith, but I know in my heart that is how this war can be resolved AND the wars that rage on outside our windows in the real world as well. We all must lead by example in peace and freedom for it to work. Thank you for your kind words my friend.

Ya, the censorship thing was weird to me, like I get retaliation, but this like trying to shut out anyone who takes any little stance towards one side or another. Sometimes the posts downvoted didn't say anything in favor of one or the other!

I honestly can't tell if the account has nefarious activity going on. At worst it seems one investor is propping up another account, but shouldn't said investor be able to use his vote how he/she pleases. Whether we like it or not we don't get to decide who they vote for, they could upvote every stupid comment they post if they wanted, would that be reward pool abuse?

Exactly. I wrote an entire post about this. In the simplest form:
If there are 50K people posting Each $50 upvote makes everybody loose 1/10th of a penny and each $50 flag gives everybody 1/10th of a penny. Even if this was $500 it's still just a penny. A penny isn't a justification for a war. Period.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47