You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You think you 'own' land? Think again!

in #ungrip7 years ago

As I read your post my jaw dropped. Why? I already knew all of this so it wasn't that. It was because I have told my friends and family in Canada the exact same thing and watched their eyes glaze over. I find that amazing! This is because even though we have our own constitution, the Queen owns our land and we just get title to it like you say so well.

Obviously from a philosophical point of view we own nothing, but having this almost master/slave relationship to the defunct crown makes no sense to me.

Thank you for being a sage kindred spirit!

Sort:  

Yup. I get the same reaction with my family and some friends too. Most of my friends that I have now know what I am talking about, so most of this is no longer a surprise to them. But all the friends that have drifted off have a hard time comprehending this information. One day it will sink in ... I pray! Thank you for commenting and sharing. I hope you were able to pick your jaw up off the floor! lol

You just made me laugh! I did pick it off the floor!

I fear that we are going to have a 2008 style housing crisis in Canada with the urban price boom and the governments artificially keeping the interest rates low without an adjustment period. It will only serve to move more wealth to the corporations and one percent. A different subject but imminent!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57613.91
ETH 2390.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43