You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A list of my favorite steemit tools, do you have any to add?

in #ungrip7 years ago

Hello @wwf.

A very nice collection you are presenting here. As I am atill new on steemit I have been around many of these pages, yet I use SteemWorld the most to see all incoming and outgoing things. GINAbot is a great help to me triggering notifications on certain words that are typed in comments or posts, without them being actual tags.

I have two questions:
1: Can you find an easy way to describe what VESTS are? I still have absolutely no clue about this.

2: Are you using autovoters to support your favourite steemians? If so, which ones can you advice?

All the best and thanks again for this tool collection.
Moritz

Sort:  

Vests are a short term for inVESTment. Essentially when you take your steem and 'power up', you are committing your steem to the system and that is represented by the number of vests that you have. Right now, you get about 487 vests for ever steem you power up with. Think of it like voting shares in a corporation. With that voting power, it then increases how much your 'vote' is worth. That is why when you power up your voting power increases. It is the vests that determine whether you are a red-fish (less than 1 million vests / 1MVest), a minnow (between 1MVest and 10MVest), or a dolphin (10 - 100 MVests), Orca (100MVest - 1000MVests) or a whale (over 1000MVests). Does that help?

No, I don't use autovoters as I prefer to upvote people who comment on my work as I am an author and not a curator. Curators tend to use voting bots to support the new talent that they find. Makes their job easier. But I would rather interact with the people that choose to spend time with me. More personal that way and it build stronger, longer lasting relationships as well. If you have any more questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

Hi again.

Thank you for the insights @wwf! I now do understand VESTS. Highly appreciated.

Since two days I am experimenting with autovoters to gain SteemPower as my posts don't get rewarded very highly. I am excited to report on that experience in 14 days, after the first 7 days pay out rolled in. In my mind this will be a good way to grow SteemPower in an automated way, while spending most of the time interacting, learning and posting. I am testing a system of 20 micro-auto-votes after 15-20 min towards people whos content I value and that are highly traded at the same time. Let's see how this works out.

At last I want to add a new site to your collection if your interested:
https://steemblockexplorer.com
I just found that link on top of the steemnow page, where @penguinpablo announced yesterday what he was developing over the last weeks.

All the best.
Moritz

You are very welcome. <3 If I may suggest, one way of getting people to notice your blog is to get out and comment on other peoples blogs. By having meaningful and insightful conversations with people, you will make an impression. As a result, they will voluntarily reach out and check out your blog. Here on steemit, it is important to build those relationships and that will then equate to more followers and more votes on your blog posts. Also remember that you can make a lot of steem by commenting as people do upvote comments too! Just as I have with your comments. I work really hard to reward people who engage with me as that is a positive re-enforcement and people tend to come back because I do reward high level engagements. So there are many ways of making steem here other than just blogging. I hope that helps.

p.s. Thanks for the link. I checked it out. Thank you.

Dear @wwf.

I shurely am aware of the interaction part of steemit. And thats where my heart is at. I love to help and advice in my field of Permaculture and I also love the help and advice that comes towards me with every post I do.
Also after my first week on steemit I realized the financial power that the very interaction has with showing 80% of my SteeSupply was through comments.

And also here, right now with you and me it shows again, that truthful conversation with time and sence gets rewarded richly. Thank you very much wwf. I have to say though that often (and that is the case in this conversation as well) I feel really strange and poor to be rewarded for asking questions and being helped while on the flip side a 100% upvote of mine is worth 0.003...

I cant wait for the time, that I can support other peoples content and comments in a meaningful manner.

I think you will find that most people have a lot patience with newer users as most of us were there at one point. I cannot speak for those who invested actually currency to give them a head start. But for the most part, a vote from you, no matter the amount, has meaning as you give what you can. That for me is a symbol of your appreciation. But the real value is in the exchange and time spent with one another. But I'm here for social and spiritual reasons, the steem is a byproduct of that exchange. I've delegated it all away to help others. So I value the exchange and I am more than willing to help you as the time and energy we just spent with one another has value!

I checked out your blog. You just started a few weeks ago. To manage expectations, it takes months and months of work to get traction here on steemit. So be patient. It will come. I like what you are doing. <3 Peace to you. I'm also going to introduce you to @goldendawne as she is a powerful curator here and a fellow Steward of Gondor. She can help bring some awareness to your work too.

Thank you wwf. I know @goldendawne already through the homesteaders Discord. She is very helpful indeed.
Don't worry about my patience.. I have a lot of time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43