You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The paradox of the justice system and our relationships with our indigenous brothers and sisters

in #ungrip6 years ago (edited)

In the US it is equally as bad. I call the Justice system, the JustUS system. I have said the exact same thing about calling on Big Brother as well. We can't have it both ways. It is a tough situation. I recently had a situation where an intoxicated middle aged man with expired tags and no insurance drove his car into my fence and did major damage.

I was faced with what was a moral decision for me. Do I call the police for the sake of a police report to hold him accountable? If I choose this path his car gets impounded, he gets arrested and given a DUI. It will effect/affect him. His job and ability to maintain his household. Many would say the consequences of his choices, not your problem. But, it was my problem, because I had a choice to be human.

I talked with him, and shared how I felt about the situation, and he gave me his word that he would take care of it. I followed my heart, and within less than a week he put the deposit down on the repairs and signed a contract with the fencing company to repair it.

In life if we all took the time to act with love instead of reacting, we would see a much different humanity.

Sort:  

I applaud you on our efforts. If you called the police, then you would have engaged in violence against him. Instead you stood your ground, confronted him and chose peace. It paid off as he took responsibility and I suspect that happened because you showed compassion and empathy. He knew it could have been much worse. May you keep sharing stories like this as it helps to show that we always have a choice. Even if nothing came of it, we are still confronted with forgiveness and that is the most powerful aspect of our relationships with others and self. Bravo to you.

Thank you @wwf. It is just about remembering to be human, and we have all been in a situation where we could have used some grace from others.

Absolutely!!!! Grace under pressure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62