You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dealing with extreme cold when living off-grid

in #ungrip6 years ago (edited)

There is great security and comfort in having the knowledge, skills and technology to survive in this area of the world.
This is really great, I wasn't in a situation like that, I only remember one night I slept in the coldest day of winter without anything to warm myself(ourselves) I saw other soldiers slept like they are just dead, under a cover, it was a time when we were in military services, I can understand how hard life can be in that situation :( I hope things going well for you man :) as I read in your words about skills and education, these are really great in a situation like that, sometimes I think about a bad situation and I ask my family to get ready for a day like that!

Sort:  

Last winter we went to Saskatchewan with a group of my brothers and sisters from Kehewin Reserve to do a winter camp. When we got there the temperature was -38C with a wind chill of who knows what. We also had wet wood and slept outside in a teepee and canvas tent. Everyone survived, it build comradery, friendships and most importantly, self confidence.

Those who attended learned a LOT about themselves that night, just as I'm sure you learned a lot about yourself too. We have been doing this for over 10 years, so my confidence has grown over the years. Until we experience events like this, how would we ever be ready for such situations? 90% of the people would panic or have no idea what to do. Only 10% would be able to act and take care of their situation in a rational way. However, we can train for that so when emergencies happen, it is familiar and we won't panic or freeze out of ignorance or fear.

totally right, that's a real hard situation, I hope one day I can be like you, to have control on the situations, well my life is a little different but I love the way you live and the way I saw some other Canadians live off the grids, before I join steemit, I was just hearing about a great life and great places in other countries and people still say : we have to go out of our country to live in a better country, but they didn't know that better places are the places that we made them better, not governments and not other things. really thanks for the things you taught me WhiteWalkingFeather , you know, in my country (Iran) all the people think to go to universities and taking degrees and becoming engineers and doctors and ... and today most of people has no job, because they just think that they must ask for Governments jobs, and all looking at government to give them jobs. but I was just saying from the time that I was 18 years old, I was telling my dad I never wanna work for government or be in any job with a boss, I wanna work for myself, free, and well Steemit was a gate for me :) and I wish one day all the people can find this gate or any gate like this. but that off the grid is a thing that still its not much popular for people in here, they still take money from banks with 18% or 4% , and all the people live like they are in cages. they have to work and pay that money back to banks even more as it's 18% for example. when I started a new home I will try off the grid. it's just 6 months I started working steemit as independence work.
peace brother!

You live on the land that people commonly call 'Iran'. How cool is that. Pleased to meet you. I agree with your views and I pray that you can influence more people around you as it seems the colonization process is almost complete, even in Iran! Thank you for sharing this. It brightens my day to share similar ideas with people from all walks of life. I think this is a common ground that we can all build relationships on, despite where we live, language or beliefs ... as one of my other friends so brilliantly stated a short while ago.

thank you so much, Its a great honor to doing that, I will be glad to talk more with you, tell me if you are in discord chat site or app. :)

I'm not ... yet. One day I will get there. I tried to get onto steemit.chat, but still have yet to receive any e-mail from them to get my account setup. So perhaps discord is the place to go instead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66131.28
ETH 3598.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46