You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The paradox of the justice system and our relationships with our indigenous brothers and sisters

in #ungrip6 years ago

The pain that the family is feeling must be excruciating. I can't imagine how I would feel losing a son and then his killer gets off scot free. How in any court system does the man who was carrying a firearm, shoots and kills another man walks out a free man? It just boggles my mind. Someone once told me (I believe it was a lawyer) the best actor wins in a court case. Somehow that seems about right. It's not about what is fair or just.

This court case is a symptom of a much larger problem and I pray it is a catalyst for change. I also call upon those calling for change to do it peacefully and lead by example as violent revolution is not the answer either.

Over the years there have been many of these court cases across the country, but nothing seems to change very much. The system stil takes it toll. I pray for peaceful resolutios to the problems, but I think we have a ways to go...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62