You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms - Search and Seizure

in #ungrip7 years ago

I've put up a locked gate and that helps solve all kinds of problems. If anybody breaches that gate, it is no longer trespass, but instead is break and enter.

We have a 281 meter wall, a half meter thick and 5 meters high that protects our property. The gate is made of steel, decorative iron work and backed by 1 inch hardwood slabs. Very heavy to open. The man gate is also built the same way. I have installed cameras on the top of the wall to see who is at the door. No one enters without my express invite.

The garbage is all processed on site. No private information ever leaves the property. I take my privacy very seriously.

You may ask why I do this. I am a widow living in an isolated area in a third world country. Even though I have my son living here now, it is not safe to be unprotected. I do have other safety measures in place as well.

When my husband was alive it was a different story. Everyone knew he was ex-military. And we had dogs. I still have 5 dogs patrolling the property.

Two weeks after my husband passed away the problems started. I think people thought I was a weak little old gringa widow who could be easily scared off her property. To give you an idea of just how bad it was I had to hire armed guards 24/7 to protect the property until my walls were complete.

It wasn't only the low life scum that were causing problems. The corrupt police were too. They'd show up and ask to come on the property. NO Way Jose! Never! Then I got a speech how I needed their protection and how bad things could happen at any moment.

I may be short and old and female, but this does not mean I am weak or stupid. I have a friend who is a lawyer. He has lent me his law books which I study in my spare time. Makes for interesting reading. But I am also dealing with multiple levels of corruption.

Why am I still here? I love where I live. This was my husband's and my dream to become self-sufficient and live off the land. This dream is becoming a reality and no one will take that away from me through extortion, deceit, fraud or any other means.

Sort:  

Wow. It may sound extreme, but that is what it takes at times. Kudo's to you! I am impressed!

Thank you! It not an easy ride for a woman alone in a macho world...but I have found a way. And I am happy here.

I think it is amazing what you have done. Leading by example and it is wonderful that you share so that others can be influenced by your experience. Bravo!!!

The more we learn, the safer we can be. I share what I have learned with others because others share with me and we all pay it forward. Trying to make the world a better place for our children and grandchildren.

Wow!!!
You are beautiful!

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40