Admitted Ignorance

in #understanding7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemit Community,

To be completely honest, speculative interests are what sparked my curiosity in the technology behind Bitcoins and other cryptocurrencies. After taking a nose dive into the blockchain rabbit hole, I have spent countless hours trying to understand the core fundamentals that drive blockchain technology and the countless applications associated with it. I don't have a background in computer science or mathematics, so many of the technical terms and descriptions that are synonymous with blockchain technology are ambiguous and somewhat intimidating to me. I believe I have made some progress familiarizing myself with basic fundamentals, but I know I have a long way to go because I would not be confident articulating the meaning of this technology to someone who has never heard of it before.

It seems there is a huge disconnect between people with computer science and mathematics backgrounds who have been involved in the blockchain community and people with business backgrounds like myself. Without a true understanding of blockchain technology many people automatically dismiss it due to its foreign nature and complexity. The most common responses I hear when bringing up this topic in conversations are that its digital money and that its a big speculative bubble. Obviously, there is a reflexive relationship that accompanies the crazy price appreciation in many cryptocurrencies, so dismissing the speculative aspect of it would be wrong. Still, I believe there needs to be some sort of medium or publication that bridges the gap of ambiguity for most people who are curious about blockchain technology. As more people become familiar with this technology and begin to understand its intrinsic nature and value, I think there will be less of a dismissive attitude towards it and more and more people will start to appreciate the countless applications for it.

If anyone has any recommendations for books and articles to read, please let me know.

Thanks,

brian123

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59493.68
ETH 2649.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45