Unboxing

in #undefined6 years ago

Recently I had an untoward incident which left me thinking about how people can easily box you into a category. We box people into certain roles and see them from a biased angle, sometimes limiting them to only what we think they would be when in actual anyone is more than a sum part of their different roles in life. Yes, we need to carry few roles throughout life to balance it but please let's not put labels onto each other and turn them into defining factors of a person.

Just because my mother worked throughout her life to give me a safe and clean place at home doesn't mean that her intelligence is restricted to her cooking and cleaning skills. She carefully cooked meals to get the maximum nutrition into me. She taught me how to make my bed first thing in the morning so that it sets the tone for the rest of the day. She motivated me by words whenever I failed and sometimes continuously failed. Never teased or made fun of it. If I had looked at my mother as someone who just cleans and cooks and keeps the house in order, whose loss would that be? Mine and only mine.

Before you just take someone's role at face value maybe you need to fix your perception skills and learn from everyone around you. Maybe you need to be a bit more humble to see all this and much more.

Maybe sometimes we too limit ourselves in to a box of genders: oh I am girl and I should not be dominating at all even when a situation demands; astrology: Urgh, such a Leo, head always in the air; professions: Since I'm a teacher I must pretend to have a know it all attitude, after all I teach! When in actual we are more than our genders, calling, thoughts---we have a universe inside of us and yet we choose to stay in our little pond? Its time we first break ourselves from these self limiting shackles and take a hard look inside us. Just remove all your labels and titles and then see what remains? Who are you when you are not a sister, father, engineer, professor. Its not easy actually. But oh so rewarding in the end.
free.jpg
Source

Peace and love❤️

Iffat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67