Steemit Open Mic Week 87 - The Ballad of Lilly Bella (Original)

in #undefined6 years ago (edited)

It's been a few weeks since I've had time to post an entry for the OpenMic but I haven't forgotten about it! This is an original song that I just finished writing (a rough version of it at least). I think it is one of the better ones that I have written, hope you like it!

Charlie Leonard wrote a letter from his prison cell.

These three colors all were there.

Grey the shade of coal,

the blueness in his soul,

and the golden sunlight shining through the air.


The warden took his mail and sent it out to Lilly Bell,

His wife to be when he got free.

Poor Charlie did not see

Oh he held on so desperately

to the love of Lilly Bella

to which he thought he held the key.


Lilly Bella worked a job down in a fishing hole,

by the southern ocean shore.

And each day that she would wait,

her weary mind could not think straight.

She didn't know what it was she wanted,

but she knew she wanted more.


When Charlie's letter reached the front door of sweet Lilly Bell,

there was not a person there.

Lilly sat out on the beach,

with her new lover in her reach.

And the golden sunlight shining on her hair.

Sort:  

great tune man, i love that folk vibe. i really like that chord change on blueness in his soul/held on desperately etc... great guitar solo at the end too.

aye thanks for the feedback man!

I totally dig the tune. It reminds me of some Beatles stuff.

Hell yeah man, that's an awesome compliment haha. Thanks for the resteem as well!

Now I finally know where the "beef" is! :-) Great tune and performance, man! Loved it.

Congratulations @beeflomein! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your Board of Honor.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You are so magical. I really mean it. That harmonica could woo me for days.

I love everything about this tune - the instruments, the lyrics, your voice...ugh. ❤️ I want it on every roadtrip and bonfire.

thanks so much! Making music that people can enjoy on road trips is a new goal haha


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I am such a fan of your work my friend as you know.. love this one. ya know i would love to get a recorded original piece from you for the steemit artists music compilation volume 5 https://steemit.com/steemit/@soundlegion/steemit-artists-music-compilation-volume-5-submissions-and-cover-contest-win-25-sbd-now-officially-open

Thanks @soundlegion! I would love that as well. You should see a submission from me within the next few couple days!

awesome I will be thrilled to get a submission from you my friend huge fan this end

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00