You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Uncluttering, cluttering, too much stuff!

in #uncluttering7 years ago

Lots of yard sales? I used to have a tendency toward hoarding, but then one day I snapped and just started getting rid of everything. Now I probably throw away things that I should keep. I just get more of a dopamine hit from throwing things away than collecting them now. For the few things that I am not apt to trash right away, I have a hard rule of "if I haven't used it for a year it's gone." (I'm looking at you bottles of nail polish sitting on the shelf across my room.) Now I need to go throw some things away ;)
If I think it is something other people might want, it goes to goodwill or salvation army.

Sort:  

A yard sale isn't possible where I live (seriously, my closest neighbor is a half a mile away and downtown is 23 miles...no one would come) and get this...this town is so over-loaded with "stuff" that the Salvation Army and St. Vincent De Paul don't take donations most days! It's crazy. But I've discovered www.givebackbox.com and it's the best thing ever. You pack up a box full of good stuff to donate (not fragile)and print out a free mailing label and put in a package pick-up request with USPS or UPS (whichever your label is for), stick that sucker out on the porch and the next day it's gone. It's awesome. Except you have to DO it....that's the part I'm falling down on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40