Uncertainty is my Greatest Fear (Part 2)

in #uncertainty6 years ago

This past weekend was pretty special to me. I finally got to play video games with my 3 year old. I had dust off the Play station and started playing some classics with her such as Crash Bandicoot and Wipeout.

I was a little surprise when I read the caption of the games being made in 1997-1998. It donned on me that I had not played a real video game for almost 2 decades. No wonder I have been so stressed out from real life. I never got to enjoy my life as much as I did when I was a kid. Boy now I know why adults keep saying "Wish I was a kid again."

So here I was with my girl playing video games. She is still small so not cohesive when pressing buttons on the controller therefore I played for her. She enjoys watching me play as much as I enjoy playing with her. I was basically sharing my past memories with her and seeing her face light up was bring me joy I could only express when being a father.

If I could only do one thing with my children in my life it would be more likely than not playing video games. My wife hates video games so it has been a hard fought battle for me to even had gotten the Playstation into the living room.

Video games pretty much raised me up from childhood all the way through college. Whenever I had time I went and play just to play. It occupied my mind but gave me an outlet to imagine things that were not possible in the real world.

Of course there are drawbacks that I had carried over from video games to real life. For instance playing out a role without reviewing the full magnitude of the consequences of my actions. In a video game I can do no wrong because there is always a "reset" button. In real life there is no such thing.

In the end this past weekend was special to me and I will remember it forever. That my girl was excited by the games brought me back my childhood dreams. I wish I had done this more, but time has past. I can only move forward and spend what time I have left with them as much as I can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77