Flooring in Bulgaria

I mentioned this in a previous post renovating in Bulgaria , something that you will have to tackle, if it hasn’t already been done, is to install new floors. Now the floors here in Bulgaria generally are mud floors. As you can imagine with such a primitive material the floors will not be even nor level. This is something that you will soon become accustomed to in Bulgaria, hardly anything is straight or level!

Here are a couple of pictures detailing what we inherited when we bought the house, as you can see, wires hanging down, solid old wooden door, and mud floors.

Now this might seem like a daunting task, but to be honest it is fairly straight forward. First things first, check to make sure that the cables are not live, a simple electrical tester from a DIY store for less than a lev will do the job.

Once your happy that your not about to get fried whilst working, start by working out the levels in the room.

We had decided to turn this room into a bathroom, as we already had a water pipe and drainage pipe in the corner, so this seemed like a simple solution, as it turns out, following on from other peoples work can be a right pain in the arse!

As we had the new pipework we were stuck following their levels, as we couldn’t cut the pipework any shorter to lower it. Now originally Donna and Marie (sister in law and wife) had thought about blocking the door off, as it wouldn’t be needed. So me being me and making more work for myself, I came up with the idea of turning the door into a cupboard, so as to maximise the amount of useable space in the room.

So I set about transforming a doorway into a cupboard, I then had the smart idea of making the cupboard a large cupboard so as to house the washing machine. As you can see I went for a simple timber construction for the framework, and then use tongue and groove for the upper shelves and chipboard (OSB) for the lower part, as the washing machine will be in the way and won’t be seen. You can see that I added a simple design at the top, just to try to make it look a bit prettier for Donna, plus it gave me a chance to have a bit of a play with my jigsaw and start to practise using my tools again.

My next task was to cut out the walls ready to house the pipework, here in Bulgaria all pipework and wiring are buried in the walls. I started off with a hammer and chisel, but soon realised that this was going to take me forever, so out came my trusted angle grinder with a stone cutting disc on it.

Now be warned this next step is immensely messy and incredibly dusty!!!

With window open and door shut, dust mask on, I set about cutting the walls. After a few minutes you soon realise that you can’t see a thing and the whole room is just one big dust cloud. I couldn’t even see the light from the window!

All in it took me an afternoon to get all the channels cut, and by the time I emerged, it looked like I had been in some sort of disaster movie, I was covered head to toe in brick dust!

Sort:  

Congratulations @andysmancave! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61875.77
ETH 2403.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64