You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Deeper Dives: Living la Vida Unbanked in the World of Digital Currencies

in #unbanking7 years ago

@hilarski Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. I appreciate it.

I know my initial perceptions of why I though it couldn't happen in the US had to do with the difference of the cost of living between South and Central America vs. the US. Now my position on the subject has changed radically. Once I managed to piece together a cost effective way to earn in crypto, but spend in fiat (courtesy of Shift), I discovered lots of my own opinions and preconceived notions are what stopped me from even considering it.

I have been doing this series Deeper Dives, more as an offshoot of my Subcultures and Social Trends series, to experience what life is like inside that subculture. It started with sensory deprivation tanks and the Psychonaut subculture.

Recently, I decided to expand the Deeper Dives into other areas - unbanking was the first. When I first decided to do this, everyone around me thought I was crazy. Even I was seriously uncertain I could do this. Now, I find myself continuing to rely less and less on banks. They are still the cheapest way in from the fiat world, but beyond that I see no benefit I receive for the fee premiums I pay and the loss of my privacy.

Every time I do a Deeper Dive, the thing I love the most is how it challenges my established thoughts and how it changes me moving forward. This one had quite a substantial impact.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67661.55
ETH 2619.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72