Today Is A Special Day #ulog

in #ulogs6 years ago

What's so special about today then?

It's my birthday!

Is that it? You made a post to tell steem that it's your birthday? What do you expect? Some whale to read this and think
"Shit, it's his birthday, better upvote him $20"

No, well, not entirely. However, a birthday whale vote or an outright gift would be greatly appreciated. Not only is this a post to tell you all to upvote 100% for sub-par content, but it's also my 100th ever post!

Which is in no way a measure of anything important. I could've easily posted this eleven times a day and reached 100 posts in like a week, but I didn't.
Yet another reason to upvote me 100%.


I want to tell a quick story from my past. Last year in fact. I'd like to start by making it clear that I hate a fuss being made over me. I like attention, sure, but I don't like people planning around me.

Another thing I should mention is that despite being just the raw young age of eighteen at the time, I'd gotten to that age where you actually forget it's your own birthday. Hell, if it wasn't for my mother and facebook, no one outside my immediate family would've known.

Today my flatmates all said happy birthday in the chat, and while I was looking for this little bastard: ❤️
My phone died, leaving all those happy birthday messages as read but with no reply. My flatmates already thought I was a cunt, but they put that aside to show a smidgen of kindness on my day of creation. And I appear to have shat on that gesture.

"Unhappy birthday" according to Jas.


Back to the story, It was a random day at the end of May... Or was it the start of June? I'm not entirely sure. I awoke to the sound of my mother calling for me to come downstairs for breakfast, which was both strange in the sense that it was a weekend in the summer and we didn't have to be anywhere, and normal in the sense that she often makes a cooked breakfast. It was probably about mid-day and I was still asleep.

I figured I'd just walk down in an hour or two and have whatever was for breakfast, cold. But she was persistent that I come down immediately. So, I scraped myself out the bed, chucked on my dressing gown (I didn't even bother putting underwear on) and I likely reaked of sweat from the day before.

So, as I walked into my kitchen, the last thing I expected to see was a surprise party with a ton of my relatives and friends crammed into one room. And of course, I had to endure the singing, where everyone in the room looks at you and sings possibly the oldest song in the most out of tune voices you could possibly imagine. For 20 seconds I was stood there, barely conscious as people recited the song, staring me down and expecting me to do something other than stand there awkwardly and stare back!


Let's have three of these little bastards.
Hip hip, hooray.
Hip hip, hooray.
Hip hip, hooray!


Sort:  

I hope your listening to 50 cent in da club and will.i.am (& codywise) It's my birthday, today.

Gosh, it's been ages since I've heard that song, it was one of my favorites though. I'll put it on in your honour.

Enjoy the rest of day and don't forget to make resolutions we never actually carry out to do 😂.

I wouldn't worry about that! I made wishes, not resolutions haha.

Happy Birthday !!!

Don't hang out too long on steemit :D
Akward story i relived myself so often

Didn't spend too long on steemit, don't worry 😂 I did spend most of the day eating and feeling hungover though.

Happy birthday!

I do such a fine job of making sure nobody fusses over mine and because of that, I haven't received a birthday gift in 12 years. That takes skill.

Thanks! and right!? If it wasn't for the free money, and me being a broke student, I'd probably make an effort for people to not celebrate it. I feel like I'm getting old in the sense that I have to be reminded to celebrate my own birthday, that sounds like the kinda shit that happens when you go senile but in actuality, I just couldn't give two shits.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00