U-Log # 012 | Justice for Edith Nakary

in #ulogs6 years ago (edited)

U-Log # 012| Justice for Edith Nakary

[Source]

Today we commemorate the first month of the death of my niece EDITH NAKARY SAYAGO LEZAMA
. She was killed in the National Guard Military Academy, at Michelena, State of Tachira, Venezuela. One month after her assassination, the Academy has not yet issued an official statement about my niece’s death. Now I am sure they never will (You can read my U-Log # 004 here: https://steemit.com/ulog/@hlezama/ulog-004 ). They recently replaced the Director of the Academy. We cannot tell if that was related to her death or it was about to happen anyway. No investigation was carried out.
They insist it was the most outrageous suicide-for-no-reason ever attempted
. What is apparent by now is that the military is rotten to the core in Venezuela. I had always thought so, but with this painful situation I have corroborated that assumption.

[Source]

Today I want to reflect about what it means to lose a loved one under these circumstances. In a place where she was supposed to be safe; a place where she was supposed to learn how to protect others. Now we know so many stories told by her fellow cadets and other kids who quit because they did not want to be part of such an institution, that we can categorically affirm that
this new generation of military that is being trained in my country is not meant to protect the people
, as their new name, “Guardia del Pueblo” suggests. They are creating traumatized brainless psychos. How else to categorize someone who for four years is taught to torture, lie and ignore injustice, even if they can be the next victims?

[Source]

Under the current regime the corruption of an already corrupt institution has been totalized! No responsible parent should want their children to be part of the Venezuela military in any of their shapes or colors. No reasonable youth should willingly or forcefully want to wear any of those uniforms.
If there were a boycott towards those institutions we would send a powerful message.
But that’s preposterous; reality hits us in the face every day. The military became the main option for Venezuelan youth. It’s the only “stable job” they can have (if they are totally loyal to this corrupt regime) and, undoubtedly, the most profitable.
The only pre-requisite to be part of this privileged elite is to renounce your brain and moral values behind.

[Source]

Today I want to share with you
what it means to say good bye to a loved one whose crime will probably never be solved
. When we talk about it, we do it in cryptic language, no mentioning names or specific events. We use euphemism and we have started to avoid her name.

[Source]

I find it difficult to talk to my sister because every time I asked her about her other two daughters I am this close to ask her about Nakary. It was customary for me to do so and it has taken me about a month to internalize that she is gone forever and that, out there,
there is a person or some people responsible for her death, but well protected by the money and the power of relatives and the complicity and cowardice of many
, who ironically ignore or refuse to accept the fact that they may be next in line to “commit suicide” for no apparent reason, and it will be their families crying and looking desperately for answers, but they will get none.

[Source]

Tonight, we prayed for Naky’s soul
. My mother, who is visiting us in Cumaná, my mother-in-law, my daughter and my wife, joined in prayer trying to keep her memory alive; trying to find peace and solace; trying to shake the universe to our favor and make things happen that can bring justice for Naky and our family.

[Source]

Rest in peace, my dear niece.

Thanks for visiting and commenting

Support the initiative #ULOG promoted by @SURPASSINGGOOGLE and make your voice matter.
Visit ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74