ULOG #23: I like to get high.......on ladders!

in #ulog6 years ago

dr zeke1.jpg

Welcome back to the riveting adventures of the contract internet installer as he boldly ventures where nobody else will to deliver internet to the masses. Those new to this blog might be treated to dizzying heights that I am permitted to scale with my huge 20 foot ladder, silly stories about the odd folks I meet in their search for the cheapest internet in the land, or at least a neat perspective on the little city where I find my home in small town Canada.

Strap on your work boots and tool belts and lets get up some ladders.

IMG_4267.jpg

This is the main corner of quaint St Mary's Ontario.......why it is a possessive town name, I may never know. http://www.townofstmarys.com/en/index.aspx If you hit the link, you will see there is a lot going on including a curb replacement, road construction, and even a closure of the Pyramid Recreation Centre main James Street entrance! What ever will we do? Well this second floor apartment will be just fine with its 16.79 MB/sec.

IMG_4245.jpg

This one is actually taken from a historic Bed & Breakfast on a nice street and one of the influential restaurateurs lives right across the way. The old computer inside is running Windows Vista and understandably barely functions so it is a wonder the internet seemed slow. Zeke to the rescue with expert placement of their antenna and bandwidth that will most likely never be used. Happy old fella though. It is unbelievable how many B&Bs are in this town. https://www.google.com/search?rlla=0&hotel_dates=2018-10-08%2C2018-10-09&tbm=lcl&ei=qbmZW8rlJ-mZjwS3m6-oBQ&hotel_occupancy=2&q=stratford+albert+st+bed+and+breakfast&oq=stratford+albert+st+bed+and+breakfast&gs_l=psy-ab.3...33406.41807.0.41922.37.33.0.4.4.0.106.2731.31j2.33.0....0...1c.1.64.psy-ab..0.36.2652...0j38j0i67k1j0i131k1j0i22i30k1j33i21k1j33i160k1.0.VDip1aXQobU#rlfi=hd:2018-10-08,2018-10-09;si:;mv:!3m8!1m3!1d1348.195695106911!2d-80.97501134235904!3d43.37032946637211!3m2!1i903!2i714!4f13.1

IMG_4192.jpg

This is in a less quaint part of town close to a main corner that boasts a cafe, Best Western, Car wash and chapter of a biker gang. I really hate going into smokers apartments because of the stench and the fact that I come out of there smelling like I spent a couple hours at a bingo hall. Maybe the only thing worse is when they are cat owners as well as the piss/litter box smell is goddamn terribly and I cough the hair out for a couple days. I leaned out nice and far on the roof for this shot to make it seem I am flying......just for you.

IMG_4170.jpg

This one was close to the edge of town and looks funky because I shot the panorama from the corner of the house. Very nice old retired couple who typically love to chat and visit while I do my work. Fine by me as there is often a cup of tea in it for me and sometimes I meet someone with a neat back ground. Plenty of nice chem trails in the beautiful summer sky makes me think that I am probably only a couple months before I am freezing my ass off for money and your enjoyment during the winter season jobs.

IMG_4247.jpg

I couldn't thrill you with the epic details of one of my contracts and scenery of my little town without sharing my reward. I go into a little more detail on this beer in my Hops blog from yesterday https://steemit.com/beersaturday/@zekepickleman/this-week-in-beer but a nice cold strong beer after risking life and limb to deliver the intarweeb is just what the doctor ordered.

zekepickleman.jpg

Tune in next time to see evidence that I have not fallen fatally from not so great heights and see my little town from a rare perspective.

Your work make for any funny stories this week?

Sort:  

Canadian Molsen is one of the best beers there is in my opinion! I have been all over Canada but most of my time has been in Kitchener, however I have been to Toronto, Markham St. Marys, Ottawa and Montreal. Good times even though I was there for work.

I am kinda anti-molson like I am anti facebook. Though my love of beer stemmed from college days and chugging Molson Canadian. In the town I grew up in, Molson Canadian vs Labatt Blue was kinda like another redneck Ford vs Chevy thing.

Yah Kitchener is not too far from here and I just moved after 20 years in Toronto. Montreal is an awesome city too. If you make it back up here for work, bring your gi and we can celebrate with some really good beers.

That sounds and looks like a good and productive day!
Thanks for sharing!
The town looks like a great place to live.

It is not too bad. For a smaller place without the traffic and pollution and high real estate costs, there is a lot going on and adventure to be had.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87