Ulog- getting Momma off my back

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG_20180717_002703_795.jpg
So I got a contract to sew up some graduation gowns for a school who ran short on gowns because of the increase in the number of pupils graduating, they are kids of around 4-6 years. I am excited but also nervous because I haven't sewn a grad gown before. It's going to be a new experience for me, to prepare myself I got a sample, a graduation gown that looks exactly like what they needed and I studied it. Will be showing the procedures I undertook next week hopefully.
Well today's needleworkmonday is not about that. It's about a very simple dress you can make in less than 30 minutes and look pretty classy in OR in my case, have your Momma off your back.
She was all about me making her something to wear because according to her she has no clothes left to wear (rolling my eyes, yeah right) and after much words I quickly thought to make her something that won't take much of my time and leave us both happy, a win-win.
So I opted for this simple turtle neck blouse.

Here's how to make it easy and be on your way;

decide how free you would like the blouse to be either very free or a little fitted. I opted for a little fitted
measure your stomach region all round or your burst region all round which ever side is bigger
cut your material into two equal parts and fold them equally into two.
mark the mid point of both folded materials, remember both materials are big enough to pass your stomach or burst region whichever is bigger
at the top of the material make pleats or a little gathering using a machine, make sure the pleats or gather is wide enough to be the measurement of your shoulders.
do this for both materials at the top or shoulder region
using your tape measure the space 2" between both sides of your neck and measure it out on your pleated or gathered part of your material and mark it
using a chalk and a ruler draw a slanted line from the shoulder area down to 8" or so depending on how tight you like the arm space to be.
make a mark on the top region for the neck and cut it out
using a piece of the the material as bias or band cover up all the cut out and sewn edges on the neck and shoulders making it long enough that there are extras for tying
join both materials together placing both materials with the right side facing each other. You could add a zip to the if the blouse you made is fitted.
hurray! Your blouse is ready to be rocked to any occasion you deem fit 😀
IMG_20180717_002749_112.jpg
IMG_20180714_210453.jpg

Thanks for taking the time to read, looking forward to checking out all you guys posts..😁😁

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Your momma is certainly rocking the blouse :) Thanks for sharing the fast-blouse steps. A good quick project to try. I like the fabric color and pattern!

Thanks @marblely, lol she sure is rocking it

This very bonilta blouse, I like the design. The color of the fabric is vibrant.

Thanks 🙂 @jicrochet , what's a bonilta blouse?

It looks lovely for such a quick project! I am looking forward to seeing your graduation gowns.

Thank you for your comment @thriftymum, will be sure to past about the grad gowns

Lovely blouse for the summer, I like the length.
Graduation gowns - they look a bit complicated!

Yeah it's pretty @shanibeer, I'm thinking of making one for my Self, later, yeah the gowns are not that complicated actually

Lol you and your mom are adorable!! It seems you are pretty close. 😊 I Love the blouse and the added tie. The material is so pretty. Thank you for including those steps for us!

I wish you well on this contract and that you are able to make the graduation gowns to their liking (which I have no doubt you will). I’m looking forward to seeing them!

Lol! Momma is definitely a handful . Thanks for your comment, yeah, I'll put up my process thanks ☺

Very interested to see the process @wondermaey...

I have always been interested in reading the markings on the edges of the fabric - and used to collect them for a while :D... So I was a bit intrigued by the 'guaranteed real wax'. I guess the other option is that the fabric is 'printed to look like a batik' ?

Soooo here I am ... hopefully my head will stay ok :-D
Lovely blouse you made but I would need perhaps a day to make it :-D I still think you have a kind of sewing/visualizing superpower.
And I had to laugh:

She was all about me making her something to wear because according to her she has no clothes left to wear

I heard myself in your mother... I am often unable to put clothes together (believe me I am always amazed, that I look ok on photos) Sometime I think I am colour-blind when I choose fabric or wool, because it harmonizes with nothing in my wardrobe :-DD
Your contract is wonderful (I am not sure if it is your hobby or day job?) but as @shanibeer stated, I also could imagine that they are difficult to make... but also, I am not completely sure what a graduation robe is (robe sounds complicated)? I only know something like this from university... but it is not common here, neither at school nor university.

Lol! I know you won't need a day even if you're adding al your fancy poses for photographs
And about the colours matching that happens to me too then I start to see empty spaces in my wardrobe instead of actual clothes and the feeling that I don't have enough clothes starts to creep up on me.
Yeah my contract, I work in a school actually on part time, that was how I was able to get the sewing gig because I saw that they would need more gowns and they're graduation is coming up next week and I'm kinda free since schools are closing for the term. They are actually for little kids and yeah it is a thing over here, I would make a post on it by next week tho.

Great job. Many people cannot sew without a commercial pattern. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for your comment, I learnt without a pattern, then it felt like loads of stress, but I'm glad I did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27