Ulog Day 5: Had a Terrible Thursday

in #ulog6 years ago

Who is used to having a bad day once in a while? You can relate with how I felt yesterday. Yesterday was a very bad day for me. I pray yesterday never comes again in my life and the life of everyone I know. It's normal for us to have bad days but yesterday was damn agonising for me.

I woke up late in the morning because I stayed long in the night working on an important project. I had to rush my bath so that I would catch up with posting (schoo)l. I live very far from the hospital (where we go for postings) so I spend money on transportation everyday. And it's always sad for us to go for posting without doing anything. We were supposed to have surgery cases. Two men had been booked for surgery the previous day. I waited at the theatre for the medical consultants who will perform the surgery to come. 3 hours later, I was informed the surgeries would not hold again. I was vexed. Squandered my money and time. And I was equally filled with pity for the men who were to be operated on.

image

I came back hoping that Senegal, the only African team remaining at the group stage of the World Cup competition would qualify to round 16. As a matter of fact, I had high hopes they would qualify having won Poland in their first match and drew with Japan in their second match. I expected that at least, they would hold Colombia to a draw. Unfortunately, they lost 1-0 to Colombia and crashed out of the tournament on fair play rule.

image

They had same point, 4, with Japan and also same goal difference. The tie-breaker was the fair play rule. Colombia had a better fair play, less yellow cards and other things. Senegal became the first country to crash out of World Cup because of this new FIFA rule. None of Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia, Nigeria and Senegal made it to the next stage of the tournament. It was very painful. I was deeply pained.

Just after the match, I opened a local news page, the Vanguard. I saw a horrendous news. A petroleum tanker fell in Otedola bridge in Lagos, Nigeria.

image
Source- Vanguard Nigeria

The petroleum engulfed many vehicles and lives were lost. The picture was gory. It was a black Thursday for Nigeria. According to the news, about 67 vehicles were burnt and 10 bodies burnt beyond recognition as at the time the news was written. Visit here if you want to read more. I was so sad.

As if that was not enough, I went to see someone I cherished so much. We had issues. I ended up being sadder than I came. When I returned, I had nothing to eat. It was late in the night. So I went to bed on an empty stomach with so much anger, hunger and sadness.

It was a very sad Thursday for me. May such day never come again. Amen.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59702.71
ETH 2542.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54