# ulog 18 : More than meets the eye(glasses)

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

a.png

Last night, I did my best to balance studies and rest. I guzzled down two separate cups of coffee before going for a power nap. As always, I slept for more than 30 minutes. So my nap at 11:15 pm last evening ended when I woke up to the brightness of my dorm room's light bulb at 1:04 am today. Still, waking up at 1:04 am in the middle of the night is still better than not waking up early at all.

I went to the comfort room immediately to wash my face and brush my teeth. It was very quiet because most of the people in the dorm were asleep. The silence of the place gave way to the sounds of crickets in the grass, the bees whizzing about the night lights, and the varied sounds of snoring. I felt quite comfortable, knowing that nobody will see me inspecting my foam-filled mouth in front of the mirror while I brush my teeth, or see the look on my face as I squint while applying facial cleanser.

After my night routines, I was about to go to back to my room, when suddenly I could see in the mirror something glistening at the top of the stall behind me. I checked it out, and guess what I found? Eyeglasses. The first thing that popped into my mind was how worried the owner would be once he realizes that one of his personal belongings was left behind in the bathroom where anyone's intentions are unclear. I took it with me for safe keeping, and hurried back to my room.

I wrote a signage on paper, saying that to whomever left his glasses in the bathroom, please go to my room so that he can personally and securely retrieve it from me. I then taped it on the wall of the comfort room at an angle where people can easily see it, particularly the guy who left his glasses. I felt the need to go to the comfort room again. I went to the stall hastily so that I could move on with my study session. Before I could even close the door, I saw something inside the stall opposite the one I was currently in. I looked at it again and realized what it was. More eyeglasses. "Another one?!", I exclaimed. I looked around me and thought, "This is getting creepy. Am I being filmed as part of a prank show? Are there any hidden cameras?!" I took it with me as well, and modified the sign I hung up at the bathroom wall, with the additional signage now addressing more than one person who misplaced his spectacles.

Fast forward to earlier this afternoon, I was relieved to see both of them come up to my bed, looking for the person who found their glasses. It was a great feeling to shake hands with one of them, a very welcome sign of gratitude. I'm happy that they both got their glasses back safely.

Although what happened today was a very unusual experience, I am thankful to God nonetheless for giving me the opportunity to do good to my fellow students and dorm residents.

Proverbs 3:27 (KJV)
Withhold not good from them to whom it is due, when it is in the power of thine hand to do it.

Thanks for reading! More to come.

Take care,
Jesse Mar

Sort:  

Whoaaa I found it funny when you found two of them. Thanks be to God! Losing one's glasses is tough.

This post has received a 1.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @virtualself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75