#ulog 16 : My best friend

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

a.jpg

Hi! Let me tell you a true story.


It was a rainy afternoon last Sunday when I returned home for a moment to retrieve things that I will need in the dormitory during the summer semester. After a pat on the head to my little brother, a kiss on the forehead to my sleeping father, and a hug to my mother, I went on my way to visit my best friend who goes by the first name Luke Treestand. He lives just one tricycle ride away from my house, but I hurried nonetheless, because of how rainy it was. He will be going to Manila soon for college, and the next likely time we'll see each other would be on July 28, so I figured that it was a fitting opportunity to spend time with him.

After a bumpy ride spanning 17 minutes, I got off the tricycle and headed towards Treestand's house. Upon arriving at their gate, I peered inside and observed the moving shadows in the house that were visible through the stained glass adorning their doorstep. After eleven unsuccessful attempts at calling their attention by yelling "Tao po? (Is anyone there?)", his uncle finally heard me and told Luke that I had arrived. Luke greeted me with a poker face, which is quite typical of him, and asked me why I had arrived at 8:23 pm in the evening. Rather than replying, I opened the gate, went inside, and told him a joke that made him laugh.

We went upstairs to his room, and collected our thoughts for about ten minutes before going on yet another endless conversation about everything going on around us as the weeks passed by. We talked about a lot of things, from music and memes, to our loved ones and the next chapters of our lives going forward. Much of what we said was about how much we'll miss Letran Calamba, including all the people and the memories we'll be leaving behind. We spent those precious minutes weaving together moments of laughter, silence, reflection, and introspection. As always, time flew by very quickly, and before we knew it, it was already 10:37 pm. I told him that I should be going home because I had classes at 8 am the next day, but he insisted that I spend the rainy evening at his house like I did many times before, and that he would wake me up very early the next morning instead. And so, my visit to Luke's house turned into an impromptu sleepover.

Before I could suggest our next activity for the night, Treestand said he wanted to see me draw. On one hand, I wanted to make a sketch of this certain girl that I admire. On the other hand, I really, really suck at drawing, whether it be for academic or recreational purposes, so the end product will certainly be anything but pretty. So I scrapped that idea and told him, "How about we take a walk in the rain?" I was surprised that he actually took it seriously, because I could see in his face that he thought my suggestion was a stroke of genius. He hurried downstairs, went to his other room, and came back with a t-shirt and shorts. "Wear these," he told me. After changing, I followed Luke outside after he told his uncle that we'll be going out for a while.

Emerging from the dry confines of their house, we were suddenly immersed in the gentle touch of the rain. We started walking around the neighborhood. "The last time I showered in the rain, I was in high school," I told Treestand. "The last time I did this, I was alone... at least now I'll be with you," he replied. As our conversation grew longer and more sentimental, it seemed the raindrops fell faster and harder as well. After what felt like thirty minutes, we decided to return to his house, spending another twenty minutes or so in the mesmerizing rain before going inside.

We took turns in taking a shower and drank some warm milk before going to bed. We cracked a few jokes and talked about some more stuff before finally calling it a night.


My alarm woke me up at 5:36 am. I immediately got up, did some stretching, and changed into my civilian garments downstairs in Luke's other room. I climbed back upstairs, and packed up my things. I switched on the lights briefly, and I could see Luke squinting and stretching a little, meaning he was awake. I took my jacket and wore it, and put my laptop back in my bag. I was good to go. Treestand told me, "Sige na, magpatuloy ka na (Go on now, you must be on your way). I was speechless for ten seconds (for I was well aware that this instance was a mutual attempt to add another memorable moment to our already unbelievable story), then I laughed, and replied to him with a smile, "Matatanda na tayo (We're grown-ups now)." We shared one last glance, and I turned the lights off. He went back to sleep and I left the room. I quietly went out their doorstep, and then their gate. I stared at his house for ten more seconds, knowing that this would be the last time I'll ever step foot there. I then headed for the jeepney terminal and rode a jeep to SM Calamba.

"This is my life now," I thought to myself. No one to visit anymore during Saturdays. One less person to run to and be there for in times of trouble. I know that we'll still be having our meetups in the future and that we'll still be sending each other messages online, but I knew deep inside that a new chapter of my life has begun.

I suddenly felt a moment of hope and whispered to myself, "I'll do my best to care for others, understand them, and give my time in helping them in any way I can, the way I did in my seven-years-and-counting friendship with Treestand." I stared out into the sky, wondering what's in store for me down the road. All I could see was rain, reminding me of someone who had walked loyally alongside me for so long; someone who will be on his own again. It is my wish that God may always watch over him.....


Thanks for reading! More to come.

Take care,
Jesse Mar

Sort:  

This post sure made me miss my childhood friends. May God bless you always!

I felt like I was reading a light novel; I could imagine even the smallest details. You're able to convey the right emotions! I like the way you write. I actually felt a little sad for you and your best friend, now that you're no longer seeing each other as much.

Thank you for the kind words :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by virtualself from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice write up. Flashbacks spark while reading this log with my childhood best friend.

Nice write up. Flashbacks
Spark while reading this log with
My childhood best friend.

                 - fycee


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Walks-together-in-the-rain friends are definitely hard to find. I haven't found a replacement for that friend of mine though, but I heard she had already moved on. I don't fully trust people, even my current acquaintances nowadays, and it seems that trust worthy people are getting scarce. I'm not hopping to find one in this life though but if God wills, then, thanks be to God in advance.

I hope God will give you the chance to find that kind of friendship in someone again :)

I believe that you have a good heart and no question with that yes we have sad times that a friend leaves and you don't have the luxury of time that you have in the many years you have with your best friend.
But what is important is the memories you have with him the legacy that you were together that is a treasure that when you remember it can bring you joy hope and fun.
Then when the time comes that your paths have crossed again it will be a lot more fun.
It is a small world and anything can happen most especially for you because I know that you're a good person. I treat you like my brother.

So I believe we can find our true friend. And maybe God already gave it we just have to search for it.

And P.S there are many trustworthy people you just have to know who to trust^^

God blessed bro. What a magnificent story you have.
You inspire me more to blog :)

Keep it up, God blessed

Ged

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74