#ulog 11 : Featured Favorites #3 - My favorite bands during the recent revival of OPM

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

iloveopm.jpg
These past few years, many critics, including industry giants and casual fans alike, have been saying that "OPM is dead." Although I do not entirely agree with them, I did notice that there weren't that many songs released during the time that tickled my fancy. In fact, EDM was the main genre I was listening to, and most of the OPM songs that were in my playlist were classics and old releases.

Recently, me and some of my friends have noticed that the drought has ended one way or another, thanks to fresh and innovative local acts who kept the ship afloat during the last few years, and are now at the forefront of the OPM scene. Here are some of my favorites:

autotelic.jpg
1)Autotelic
Members: Josh Villena (guitars and vocals), Kai Honasan (keyboards and vocals), Neil Tin (guitars), EJ Edralin (synth), Timothy “Pabs” Vargas (bass guitars), and Gep Macadaeg (drums)

My personal favorites from them: Laro, Gising, Languyin (all three singles are taken from their 2016 album Papunta Pabalik), and their collaboration with Ebe Dancel for Coke Studio Philippines Season 1 entitled "Bahagi"

Why I love them: Their awesome and unique fusion of Pinoy alternative rock and electronica

IV-OF-SPADES.jpg
2)IV of Spades
Members: Blaster Silonga (lead guitar and backing vocals), Zildjan Benitez (bass guitar and backing vocals), Badjao de Castro (drums and percussion), Unique Salonga (guitar and main vocalist; former member; left the band in 2018 due to "personal endeavors")

My personal favorites from them: Mundo, Where Have You Been My Disco?

Why I love them: The nostalgic retro feel and funk in their songs that were last seen in the OPM scene during the '90s

stickfiggas.png
3)Stick Figgas
Members: Original members are Loonie and Ron Henley. New members, who were added due to Stick Figgas' revival in 2015 as a band, include Kat Agarrado of the pop groups Passage and SinoSiKat as vocalist; and the band which includes JC Sebastian, arranger, producer and engineer on lead guitar; Tuts Calinawan of the rock band Cheese on bass guitar; Macky Brilliantes of the duo Motherbasss on drums; Bboy Garcia, also a member of Cheese on the turntables; and Nikki Cabardo who was formerly of Freestyle, on keyboards

My personal favorites from them: Nandito Lang Ako (from the 2007 album Critical Condition), Ubasan (from the 2017 album Realistick), and Lamanloob, which won in the 29th Awit Awards for Best Hip-Hop/Rap Recording

Why I love them: The way they weave together rock and rap to illustrate the various faces of the human condition

There you have it! My favorite OPM acts as of the moment. :)

Thanks for reading! More to come.

Take care,
Jesse Mar

(Images are taken from myx.abs-cbn.com, onemusic.ph, soulmag.ph, and wish1075.com)

#unlisteemersph
#steemitfamilyph
#steemitpowerupph

Supporting #surpassinggoogle

unlisteemersph.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61238.93
ETH 2454.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59