Book saved me from suicidesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog4 years ago

You might me wondering if I am alright to say that books stopped me from committing sucide. Well, yes I am and I'm about to give you the full details of it all.

Screenshot_20200502-053911.jpg

Growing up as a kid I lived with my friends who wasn't cool with the idea of having friends that much.

When we moved into our own, we had neighbours at the back of our house who had children too.
My mum restricted us from going to play with them because she felt they would corrupt us with their wayward way and pidgin languages.

At some point I and my sibling did associate with them, and that was when we learnt how to speak pidgin language because then, they made us feel like kinda different due to fact we don't speak pidgin.

My mum got to discover that and from that day on out restriction became solid.

I wasn't much of an extrovert person growing up, so I didn't have problem with that but my younger brother did, due to he was the outgoing type of person.

After relocation to our permanent house, my parents enrolled us into a public school.
It was okay for us but sometimes I had to face oppression.

We were given money but not too much because my parent felt it wasn't necessary since they provide us with our basic needs. And in my house you weren't allowed to buy things like clothes because they felt at some point we might decide to go extra mile to see we own the current fashion wear in town.

Since we weren't allowed to buy things with our little money, I started buying storybooks and that was when my love for reading started.
I would cry for money just so that I would be able to buy storybooks every Wednesday. It became a thing I love doing still today, buying books and reading them.

After primary school, I moved to secondary school were I also graduated from the type of books I read. I went from reading books of maximum 30-40 pages to books of 80-90 pages.
Before finishing junior secondary school I was reading books of 200 pages.

My senior school was in boarding school. I was able to make friend who still today, we are still close.
I grew to reading novels especially romance genre.

Finishing secondary school as I whole I still loved reading. I bought novels and requested for them too.
Books I owned finishing secondary school
6lf597.jpg
At some point in life, I had a serious depression and my mental health wasn't in check at all.
All I wanted to leave earth because I felt I don't belong here anymore.
I would cry, write sad quotes and then I would try to read which helps to get my mind out of my current state because I get lost in reading those stories.

I was at the edge of committing sucide during those dark days but then I thought, am going to miss all these stories I love and I won't even get to read the remaining 15 novels I have and yet to read.

Due the fact I enjoyed those stories alot, I gave up suicide as at that time because I don't want to keep reading stories.
ij1led.jpg
zlsqe3.jpg

Books kept me and also saved me from committing suicide.

The bottom line of this to tell you to always find your drive. Look for what gives you hope in bad and ugly times because that would give you a reason to keep pushing and never give up.
fidxwy.jpg

Thanks For Reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95