When I Visited a Temple in my Hometown, Bulacan - "Kim Tae-Gon's Korean Temple"

in #ulog6 years ago

When I Visited a Temple in my Hometown, Bulacan - "Kim Tae-Gon's Korean Temple"


It was a good weather last weekends when I was supposed to do church hopping near our residence when I saw this unique church seated in Bocaue, Bulacan, just an hour away from our home through my friend's social media account. At first, all of the details regarding the temple was asked by mine to my friend. Then after that, I decided to go there and see the beautiful Korean temple here in Bulacan.


received_1083447771805495.png


A week after I found this church through my friend's social media account, I visited it immediately because I am so excited to witness its beauty!


Let's tackle some history here:


Who is St. Andrew Kim Tae Gon?


2017-01-21-02.33.15-1.jpg


2017-01-21-02.33.14-1.jpg


St. Andrew is a Korean priest who seeked refuge and studied the Dominican convent in Lolomboy, Bulacan. He was arrested when he returned to Korea and was beheaded in Seoul when he was performing his priestly ministry. He was then beatified by Pope Pius XI and was canonized by Pope John Paul II. The feast of St. Andrew Kim is on July 5 and he is also the secondary patron saint of Lolomboy Parish.


What About the Shrine Itself?


received_1083447698472169.png


Situated along Santa Maria River in Lolomboy, Bulacan, the Korean Shrine harbors a number of structures that reveal varying themes and inspiration. One can recognize not only Korean architecture but also some European touches to the temples.


received_1083447841805488.png


If you were once an architecture student, you will know the feeling of being attached or easily attracted to churches and the story behind the construction of this monumental shrine and the person it is named after goes back a long way and is one that is interesting to hear and read.


received_1083447738472165.png


You can see a clean minimalist theme dominated by white and only accented with black trims and the structures give off a glowing radiance under a clear and sunny weather. At sunset, it becomes a mystical place illuminated by the soft enduring twilight.

Who would’ve thought that I have been here in Bulacan all my life and honestly, I haven’t explored much of my hometown. I know, shame on me.


received_1083447625138843.png


But I’m gonna change all of that! I have renewed my perspective and for my travels this year and I’m gonna start to explore more on my beloved hometown, Bulacan. I’m very thankful that I bumped into this post of my friend. The place is so beautiful!!


But please do reminded that for everyone who is planning to go here, please do not forget to follow the rules. We do not want them to close their gates for us. So please read these tips below for a happy and fruitful trip:

* Respect the place.

This is a holy place, not a park.

* Wear decent clothes.

Give the place a respect and wear formal and decent clothes. This is not a party place.

* Observe silence.

This place is getting quite known to tourists nowadays and as a result, there are lots of people going in and out here. We do not want the Korean nuns to be mad at us, don’t we? So, let’s minimize noises and just pay our respects.


How to Get to Kim Tae-Gon's Korean Temple


The shrine is located in Lolomboy, Bocaue, Bulacan and it js run by Korean nuns. There are NO ENTRANCE FEES when you go there. However, there are certain rules that must always be implemented.


From Manila via commute:

Ride the German Espiritu bus located in Sm North/ RJ Bus in Monumento bound to Balagtas, Bulacan and ask for the driver to drop you off at 7-11 Bocaue. From there, ride a jeepney bound to Marilao. Ask the driver to drop you off at Mcdo Lolomboy. The shrine is just walking distance away from there.


For others who have private cars

You just have to take NLEX and exit at Bocaue. From the toll gate, turn right (best to utilize google maps or waze before leaving) until you find a church under construction, the Simbahan ng Sto. Cristo at San Andres Kim Taegon. You may want to visit and pray inside to pay respect too.

The street going to the shrine is very narrow. I advise caution.


Opening and Closing Hours:

Opening hours is from 7:00am to 5:00pm (sometimes they close at 4:00pm)


Only less than two hours away from Manila, the Korean Shrine of Saint Andrew Kim Tae-gon is an amazing place to visit, whether alone or with family or friends, for a much-needed time for relaxation and meditation. It's very beautiful to our minds and souls. So please do visit it also.


## And it's me again, @travelpinay, your travel buddy to any destinations you want to go

FB_IMG_1526540248622.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @travelpinay you write pretty well. We'd like you to be part of our family. Sta.Maria is the headquarters of @steemph.bulacan and the main is in Malolos City where the leader lives. Actually we're looking for an author who is in Bocaue/Pandi area. IF you do want to connect with us be so kind to contact the leader @enjieneer. We're here to help our newer members to get acquainted.

Hello sis! Nice work! ❤ Di pa ako nakapunta dyan but hopefully I'll be able to visit one day. Kapag hindi na masyadong mainit 😅 Let me know if you want to be a part of our group @steemph.bulacan. We're here to help you grow your account 😊

Naku mam @enjieneer, it is a must try. Good time din for relaxation and soul enrichment. Gusto ko maging part ng inyong group kaso pagdating sa mga meet ups at meetings, baka I will not able to attend since I have a work and pag may free time naman, I tend to travel talaga. The reason why I am travelling as much as possible talaga is due to my sickness na mababasa niyo po sa aking introductory post

Thank you very much @steemph.bulacan, it's a big honor to recognize my work and to have an invitation to be part of your precious group. I'm from Meycauayan Bulacan, I'm good to be a part of steemph.bulacan but regarding to some meet ups and meetings, sadly, I can't do that part because of my work at the same time, I travel most on my free time.

Hello miss welcome to steemit pala. Pwede din sila mag Del Carmen kung nasa EDSA hehe baba lang ng Bocaue o kaya Agila kung nasa Divisoria sila o jeep kung gusto nila hehe.

Hehe pwedeng pwede po, thanks for the added info @twotripleow

Congratulations @travelpinay, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59529.60
ETH 2657.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41