#Ulog 2: At Philippines' Last Frontier of the North — Batanes

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20140830_114150.jpg

Days ago, I have posted my travel adventures at Batanes in my entitled blog "I Left Half of My Heart at Batanes" but I got some missing photos there to show some of Batanes' finest symbols such as this one on my featured image — the iconic stone houses.

This photo here is just one of Batanes' durable stone houses that protects the native Ivatans from strong winds especially during typhoons, as this province is susceptible to natural disasters that is very common to my home country Philippines. Just for your information, this stone house where I've took my photo is said to be the oldest among them all.

IMG_20140830_104025.jpg

This one is also a stone house except it is coated and smoothened with cement that seems to look like a modern house as of today.

IMG_20140830_101136.jpg

This one is a wharf found at Mahatao, a town next to Basco. Basco is a capital town of Batan Island, one of the 3 inhabited and largest islands that comprise the Batanes Group of Islands. Itbayat and Sabtang are the other two.

IMG_20140831_114537.jpg

This is one of my photos on one of Batanes' signature structures — lighthouse. This one guides seafarers at the sea by its glowing light especially when nights are too dark that even stars are hardly seen scintillating in the sky.

IMG_20140831_114134.jpg

On my previous post, I missed to tell the name of this bonsai-like trees that seems to look like also a bush. On right side of this photo is arius, a relative of pine and cypress tree. It is said to have a lifespan of 100-300 years that natives also called it as century plant. It is also native to Taiwan, so maybe one reason that this plant grows here at Batanes is that because Taiwan is just 9-10 hours away when traveled by boat from Batanes' other major inhabited island — Itbayat to Taiwan. Natives called this also as Batanes Pine.

IMG_20140830_162013.JPG

The looming island overlooking on the horizon on this photo is the Sabtang island. I haven't take my chance to travel there since I only stayed at Batanes' capital which is Basco. But many folks said that there's also lots of tourist attractions there, but it'll take hours to travel by a boat. But maybe next time I'll try on my next visit.

IMG_20140830_120617.jpg

This one is the famous Marlborough Hills that looks like a Western countryside. Its viridescence is quite a good spot for sheeps to eat grasses, or maybe a good ranch for horses and cattles. Nevertheless, this spot is very cool to the eyes and speaks of the Batanes' pristine nature.

IMG_20140830_100358.jpg

This is a rendezvous station at Mahatao View Deck that overlooks the South China Sea. It is somewhat like a park good for picnic or even yoga and meditation.

IMG_20140830_213346.JPG

That's all for this blog adventures at Batanes. Hope you have enjoyed my treasured original photos which were uploaded from my Facebook account. These photos were from 5 years ago. So my face here seems bit young and not too old. Just judge me when you see me for real (just kidding!)

To all kabayans, fellow Steemians, #uloggers, @bestofph, #steemph, @surpassinggoogle, @cassyjanine, it's always my pleasure sharing these photos representing our team.

Have a nice day to all!

Carpe diem
(Seize the day)

Sort:  

Hi @trafalgarlaw,


Thank you for this blog of yours which shows Filipinos deep value when it comes to family and friends. It's indeed really great to spend time with your family; a quality time for our family despite this very busy generation.

With that, we're grateful we have chosen this blog to be featured and upvoted by @onerace to empower impactful Philippines' Culture and Tradition blogs.

For June 12-13, 2018 Edition of Featured Posts, see link:

https://steemit.com/onerace/@onerace/onerace-update-june-12-june-13-2018-empowering-filipino-culture-and-tradition

...thanks a lot @onerace, it's always been my pleasure... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33