What's that Bug? Meet the Orchard Spider!

in #ulog6 years ago


Good morning all!


Time to make a test post and see if Steemit will allow me the privilege today!


This, my friends, is the Orchard Spider, which is a type of orb weaver.

P1070254.jpg

She is a small spider, and quite colorful. Bright green body, with orange spots or splotches on her underbelly, and a very shiny back, almost metallic. Now, I realize I don't have the best picture here, so I apologize for that. I thought I had better photos, but when I came in from checking my greenhouse, this is what I had.

These pretty little spiders are great for pest control. This particular one had made her web right in the middle of two tomato plants which were plagued with whiteflies.


Speaking of greenhouse, here are a couple things that are doing good in there at this point. We will just ignore the tomatoes that are super infested and take a peek at:

My kimchi peppers. They are surprisingly hardy, but not as spicy as I expected.
P1070251.jpg

P1070250.jpg

My basil plant, which is doing very well, in spite of the rampant white flies and fire ants.
P1070245.jpg

Mmmmm... fresh herbs!!


page-break-1024x256.png

That concludes this little test! Hopefully I will be able to successfully post!


Have a lovely day out there in SteemLand! ♥


page-break-1024x256.png


Badge comp.png


Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

It’s great to see that orb spider doing it’s job. They are really pretty spiders. The same thing happens to me sometimes I think I have a good photo or two and I find out they aren’t in focus or something else and I’m ready to post! Have a great Friday!

They are pretty little things. ♥

Thanks for stopping by! Hope your weekend is great!

Busy little spider made it's appearance on steemit yay ;)
We've all been like uninvited guests on steemit this week, I've missed reading all the posts, tired of reading about hf20!

Yes.. I know what you mean! Its been crazy! Cant wait for things to settle down and get back to normal.

I'm not voting yet because I voted one this morning and it cost me half my VP. Again. BUT

Yay! it worked! Life will return to normal, and it's good to see some of us coming back.

Thanks for the test and the beautiful spider. I appreciate it!

Thanks!!
Yep, I cant wait for things to go back to normal...

Dandy of a spider.

Congrats. You did it.

Thanks for sharing these great photos and about your garden.

Haha thanks!
Im glad you enjoyed!

Congrats. You did it.

Thanks for sharing these great photos and about your garden.

Yay! It worked! :D

Gorgeous spider. He looks tie-dyed. I can imagine him apologizing to his prey in the slow drawl of a hippie. "Peace and love flies, but we all gotta eat, man..."

Hahaha!! Now I can hear it too! ♥
Thanks!

I have a similar spider here. The frost finally got my pepper plant (Hungarian Wax) but I had enjoyed them a long time this summer.

Oh good! Hungarian wax peppers are tasty!
We havent had frost yet here. Its been in the 90's still! Come on fall, please come soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85